Apple Spiced Infused Tea

I baked an Upside-Down Apple Cake last night.  Part of the directions was to boil water and then add the sliced apples, cloves, and cinnamon stick, turn it down and simmer for five minutes…then discard the cloves, cinnamon stick, and water.  Well if you know me, you know I don’t like to waste, as well as I LOVE getting more than one “thing” out of something.  So instead of dumping out this amazing apple/clove/cinnamon infused water, I made tea!

I remembered a tea that http://hariqhuang.wordpress.com/2013/08/02/apple-cinnamon-tea/ Hari made and it sparked my brain, “Brilliant I know what I can do with this apple spiced infused water”!  Oh my! It was so good, that I am doing this every time I make this cake. In fact perfect compliment to it.  When I was a kid and not feeling well, i’d add sliced ginger to this concoction.  Ginger is very soothing for the tummy!

photo (65)

Apple Spiced Infused Tea

Now even if you are not making this Upside-Down Apple Cake you can still make this infused tea.

Boil 6 cups of water.  While water is boiling…

Peel, core, and slice two apples.  I used granny smith. I like the tartness to them.

After the water comes to a boil…

Add the apple slices

Add 8 cloves

One stick of cinnamon

Simmer for 8-10 min.

Strain out the solids.  Enjoy!

Makes 4 nice mugs full of apple spiced tea!

FYI: If you want you can grate the apple like (Hari) did.  Or, you can slice the apple, then chop up the sliced apples, to expose more of the apple for a deeper infusion. I found just slicing them and simmering them for the 10 minutes did the trick. No real right or wrong.

The flavors will depend on the types of apples used, but if you are an apple lover, then any type of apple will make for a nice tea.

An herbal infusion is a tea that is steeped longer than a couple of minutes and usually more than one herb is used in a larger amount.  By steeping it longer you get the maximum amount of essential nutrients from that particular herb/flower/etc.

Herbal tea is really any “tea” that is non-caffeinated made from an infusion process using any herb, flower, or spice. 

True teas come from the tea bush (Camellia sinensis), which is where we get our green, black, oolong, etc. teas from). 

By the way…The upside -down apple cake was a hit.  Family had it for dessert, then the next morning with half and half poured over top!

This was a happy cake.  We all couldn’t help smiling while eating it.

Here’s to you all having a happy day, no matter what kind of cake your are eating!❀

10 thoughts on “Apple Spiced Infused Tea

  1. Hi Koko, I’ve forwarded your blog details to my big brother to read, he’s on a real health food and gym kick this year and has started sending my Mum photos of his healthy salads he’s creating for lunch, pear and cashew nuts with lettuce and other salad the other day! He’s got a sweet tooth like me so the pear was find to satisfy that, do you have any posts on packed lunch salads?

    Ps the apple upside down sounds fab, not sure about the tea 🙂 I don’t drink tea or coffee.

    Best wishes
    Charlotte

    • The tea is basically fruit and spices sort of like hot apple cider. 🙂 I don’t have any postings of salads and such yet. So new to this blogging world. But he can email me and I can help him out much faster than waiting for me to blog. He’s on the right track with eating good foods. That and a good workout routine and he’s all set! I do some kind of workout daily and can help him with that too. There’s no need to spend hours in the gym either. Oh and I do love sweets! The upside-down apple cake hit the mark!

  2. Pingback: DIY Tea Box Repurposed | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

