Juvenile five-lined skink oh my!

photo (56)

Please excuse the dirty hands, two hours mowing and two more digging will do that.

photo (57)

It’d make a cool tattoo if I were so inclined!

Found another friend in the garden.  I was turning my mulch pile and this awesome creature scurried out.  I was super excited and ran in to show my daughter to which she backed away without panicking too much and I convinced her to take a peek.

The brilliant colors really are amazing in person.  You know this a juvenile because it’s tail is so striking and the blue (sometimes purple) tail is so vibrant.  You know you’ve found an adult male by it’s orange or reddish head.  Females are a bit duller but will still have the distinctive stripes and color.

These guys are often found in grassy areas or around wood piles and decaying vegetation. (Makes sense me finding him in my mulch pile!)  They can also be found around rock piles (I have tons of that; literally.)

They like to eat insects; such as grasshoppers and crickets, spiders, earthworms, larvae, other lizards, and even mice!

These guys are diurnal which means they live on the ground.  (Fancy name; diurnal 😉  )

Since they lay their eggs from May to June; the babies will hatch between June to August, and finding this one near, I’ve decided to leave my mulch pile alone.  Mostly because I like a creature that eats spiders and mice.  Not that I’ve seen any mice, but spiders…they are everywhere.  I’m not afraid of spiders and will often take them out bare handed, however getting bit is another story.  When I get bit by one, it takes days of healing using a concoction I make.

FYI: Five-lined Skinks are NOT poisonous; though some say they taste bad so as to discourage being eaten!

Skinks are territorial.

Females lay 10-20 eggs…They are oviparous, which means, they lay eggs with little or no embryonic development inside the mother; like a bird; it’s eggs embryonic fluids and such are inside the egg.  The development of the animal doesn’t come from “stewing” inside the mom.

The females take care of the eggs.  If they need to warm up, she will lay out in the sun and then return to the eggs to warm them up!  If the air is dry she will cover the eggs with soil so they don’t dry out and if they are too dry she will urinate on them to replenish the moisture.

If the momma suspects a rotten egg; she will eat it for added nutrition.

They are not harmful to humans.

Hope you enjoyed learning about these colorful creatures.  I’m off to dig up potatoes!  Have an awesome day! 😀

22 thoughts on “Juvenile five-lined skink oh my!

      • There are lots of similar looking lizard in Nusa Lembongan (a small island near Bali). They are very noisy! They are jet black, so dark that you can’t even see their eyes unless you are like a foot away.

      • The one we got here is cream colored. They are the best natural mosquito eliminators! LOL

      • Alrite! I’ll try my best!
        (They love hanging out in dark corners. Camera blitz will shock them can cause them release their tails.)

      • Oh no! Maybe a photo isn’t a good idea. We rescued a albino leopard gecko when he was about two inches. He’s lost his tail and a few toes. No one wanted him….about 8 years later… His tail has grown. Kinda funny but a tail none the less. And he’s about 8 inches long!

      • Woah! 8 inch tail?! Is there a pic?
        I’ll try to capture a photo with my phone when I see a white gecko on the wall. I think I tweeted one but it was not that clear. They are canibals. They love eating their love rival’s tails. LOL
        The gecko I photographed was carrying a rubber-band. I think it mistook it for a lizard’s tail.

  1. What a delightful wee creature, and if I may add – I think the evidence of soil on hands that know the joys of gardening is beautiful indeed. It’s good they are territorial because your yard must be within one’s range, and maybe you’ll see more (or this one again!). I am so happy to have moved into the territory of Flickers, large robin-like birds that live in my neighbourhood. Unlike the smaller American Robin which populate every part of the city (well all of North America nearly) from spring to fall, Flickers are particular about where they live, so I am thankful to get to live within their preferred area (although I’m so glad the male in my area doesn’t to its woodpecker tapping on the metal chimney like I saw one doing a few blocks over! Yikes that was loud!)
    Great post with delightful photos. Thanks for sharing! Cheers, Gina

    • I do hope I get to see this little guy again! He was so beautiful in the real. Pictures just didn’t capture his striking colors! We have American Robins here where I am. The Cardinals and Blue Jays get my vote! It is really neat to see the male and female Cardinals pair up. They flutter around my yard and drink from the pots I have placed about the yard. I have to say since moving here I have been able to experience a whole new type of wildlife! Very uplifting and fun right outside my window! Thank you for commenting. It made my day! Have a wonderful rest of the week! Warm regards, Koko ❀ ✿ ❁ ✾

Leave a Reply

