DIY Laptop Case

IMG_8127

Making your own laptop case is easier than you think. This method can be tailor-made not only for a laptop, but for an iPad, iPhone, iPod…etc.

IMG_8042

This is an old quilted blanket. I’ve had it for about 20 years! It’s really stood the test of time! I love the weight of this fabric and the feel of it. This blanket’s backing had started wearing and I used it folded in half for years (I could have sewed a good sheet or nice fabric to it…No, not really lazy, but you know…life takes over and some projects and things are more important.), until a dog I rescued got a hold of it…big un-repairable tears!  It’s been such a good blanket, I hated to let it go and thought of all the many things I could make out of the still usable parts. And so the story goes…a project was born! (Come back and see a few more things I’ve made from one blanket. Stay with me!)

IMG_8040

There are many styles to try…Do I want the laptop to slide from the top or the side? What type of closure do I want…zipper, button, leather strap? Do I want a closure at all??? I cut many types of patterns using “wholefoods” paper bags. I’m serious when I say, “No big secrets here”…Making a case/cover is truly easy. If you can sew a fairly straight line, you can sew this! All you do is measure what you want to make. For this, I’m making a laptop sleeve/cover for my MacBook. So basically I figured an “envelope” style was the way to go. (In pic above, you see a bubble wrapped envelope? My laptop actually fit in that and I was going to “wrap” the fabric around that for protection, but I decided the blanket alone was really good protection on its own. 

IMG_8073

No need to make box corners for more space. Picture an envelope. Really, that’s all there is to this! I gave myself a 1/2″ seam allowance. You can also stitch along the edge and let the seam show without turning the fabric inside out. “Rough” edge look!

IMG_8076

You can go a million ways with the closure. I went with a simple flap that I could just flop over or tuck in. 

IMG_8079

Here it is with the flap, flopped over. 

IMG_8086

And here it is, flap tucked in.

Tips: If your fabric isn’t padded enough, try doubling the fabric, or adding batting in between the fabric.

Don’t limit yourself to just fabric you can buy at the fabric store. Try vintage tea-towels, a cool towel you got from somewhere, sheets that have torn, an old sweater, jacket, hoodie, jeans…the many “fabrics” you can use is really limitless…oh i’ve also done this with old leather (Up-cycled from leather furniture! You’d be surprised how many people toss out leather sofas. You can up-cycle the leather and not only make laptop case, but, clutches, purses, wallets an ottoman! Let your imagination go wild!)

If using leather, pleather, vinyl, felt…(basically, material that doesn’t fray) Try “whip stitching” along the seams for a unique and fun look.

As I’ve mentioned above, have fun with the types of closures…zipper, leather strap, a belt, buttons (and the buttons don’t have to be round!) Have fun showing off your creativity!

I’ve had this cover for over a year now and I still love it just the way it is. I love the flap concept.

I hope this has inspired you to see things a little differently. Something old can be made into new again!

To all you old and new followers, my wish today, for you…

See this life a little differently in the way that with each unpredictable moment, you dwell not on the chaotic parts, but the precious moments that allow your breath to be taken away.

Hugs and Peace, Koko

 

107 thoughts on “DIY Laptop Case

    • You are so sweet to say so. Made my day! I really like the case. Super handy and slips easily into any handbag I have. Lovely having you pop in! Have a great weekend! The sun is finally here! Hahahaha. Hope you get some! 🙂

  1. You truly have one of the most creative minds I’ve ever seen. Your talent and vision (which is so natural to you) is a real gift. You make everything look so easy. I look forward to reading about your next project. Stay healthy and happy! 🙂

    • You are too kind Jonathan. I really appreciate the words that help keep me going! It’s been awesome weather here, so staying healthy and happy is coming easy these days. I so needed the sunshine! Though you know what that means? Mowing and weeding. Hahaha. Hope you are well and I hope the sun is shining wherever you are! Be well, Koko:)

  2. Look great, I be the weight of the quilt is just perfect. I am the “rough” edge sewer because I never can seem to get it right when it comes to turning things inside out! I get confused way too easily 😉

    • I know what you mean. I was just telling someone today how I get my left and right mixed up all the time. Rough edge look is really cool. I am considering making slip covers for my sofas in that style. I love seeing your instagram. Keeps me inspired! Take care and thank you so much for stopping by. Enjoy your weekend! Koko:)

  3. This is a great idea!

    The only negative for me (and it is my own negative- nothing to do with your cool project…) is that I have tried repeatedly, and I am not very able when it comes to sewing.

    The positive…and it is a very big POSITIVE…is that my wonderful wife happens to be a world class seamstress, among many other things, and I am going to show this to her and ask her to make one for me for my laptop.

    Once again, you show awesome creativity as well as how cool it can be to think outside the box❗️

    Thank you and have a great day❗️

    p.s. I love your words to your followers at the end of your post‼️

    • The words to my followers was inspired by someone special. I am glad you liked the post and I do hope your wife makes you one. It is quite handy! Wonderful to have you here. Please come back and check out what else I make with that same blanket! Take care! Koko:)

    • Awe, thank you for saying so! It was a fun project that really took no time to make. The hardest part of the project was keeping the kitties back far enough so I can sew! Hahaha…Have a great evening! 🙂

    • Thank you! I’ve gotten quite a few compliments on it when I’m out. It’s really sturdy and has kept my laptop very safe in my travels. And I get to still enjoy the wonderful memories of the blanket! Great to have you here. I hope you have a lovely weekend. I’m hoping the weather stays beautiful. I’m supposed to go hiking Sunday! 🙂 Be well Sue! 🙂

    • YES! Do it. It is so hard for me to toss something that is still good. I’m glad I made the laptop case. I use it all the time and think about the years I’ve had it and the places the blanket has been! Quilts are so lovely. I actually have been thinking of making one with clothing that I no longer use. Anyway, you can make so many things with a quilt…handbag, pillow covers for your sofa, smaller throw…I hope you make something. I’d love to see what you’ve come up with! Take care Nancy!

  4. Aaaaarch another thing on my ‘realy-should-make-this-someday-list’
    And what a beautiful end to this post; a precious moment 😉
    Have a lovely weekend, kind regards.

    • I know right?! We all have that list…But it’s a good thing. If we continue to work at that list, giving us many wonderful things to do that make us happy! Though truthfully some of the things on my list are things I don’t really want to do, such as, refinish my kitchen cabinets! Ack! Your kind words are what keeps me going. I really appreciate you taking the time. Be well Patty and I hope you find something delightful to do this weekend. Hugs, Koko:)

    • Bahahaha! I need to make one for my iPad too. I will put that on my list of many things I need to do. One thing at a time right? Thank you kindly for the compliment on my case. Well, make one for your iPad! Let me know if you do. I’d love to see it! I might make mine from an old pair of jeans and use the pocket to hold earbuds! 😉 Take care and thank you so much for stopping by! Koko:)

    • Yippeeeee! Thank you so much for saying so! I have enjoyed using it. No regrets on how I made it. It’s been a really great case! I hope you have an amazing weekend and the sun comes out wherever you are! I’m going hiking so I’m keeping my fingers crossed for sunshine here too! 🙂

  5. This couldn’t have come at a better time! I’ve just bought some cat print material with the aim of making a new bag to carry my work around in. This is perfect for it! Thank you so so much:) I will let you know how it goes (although it may take me a while to finally get started…I’m good at procrastination)!

    • I’m good at procrastinating too! 😉 There are just so many things we crafty minds want to do! Cat print fabric!!!! Yes. Sounds super adorable. Have a happy week ahead. 🙂

  6. This is really innovative. Next time instead of looking for a new case, I’ll have to try this! I adore this 🙂

  7. Oh how nice!! I could have used this advice a few months ago when I bought an “idea pad” for my travels and had to go buy a cover for it. The one you made is comfy and beautiful. Your Mac will love it 💌! I think you can do anything you can think of, Koko, you just dream it and voilà it appears 😊

    • You are so good for my ego! I have had plenty of failed projects, but when something comes together it sure does feel good. I do think my Mac is happy with its new cover. How do you like your idea pad? Is there anything it doesn’t do that you wish it did?

    • You are very kind to say so. I love being able to customize it. The case has been great. And saving money is a bonus! I need to post the other things I’ve made with this fabric. Hope to see you again. Best to you! 🙂

      • Sure. I can’t wait to see it. Sometimes get so busy and can only reply to those who visit and leave comments on my blog, but I do go back and check who I haven’t visited in a while. I’m glad you did. Thanks so much Koko. It’s much appreciated. 🙂

      • I know what you mean. Life has a way of doing that. I too try my best to go through blogs. Sometimes while in line at the store! Be well! 🙂

      • Thanks koko. I wish I can do it while shopping or while waiting in line, but I don’t have enough data on my phone. I used up almost 3G (in just a few days) replying to comments on my Instagram. Now, I have without data. 😦 Be well as well Koko. ❤

    • How sweet of you to say! I really appreciate your words! It was fun and better…it was easy. I am not a pro, so when I say if I can, anyone can! Hahahaha. Thank you kindly for stopping by. Hugs! Koko:)

    • I really mean it when I say, “If I can, you can”. I am not a seamstress by any means! Give it a try! 🙂 Thank you so much for popping in. It’s always wonderful to hear feedback! Have a gorgeous day! I hope the sun is shining gently wherever you are! 🙂

  8. The way you shot those pictures were very detailed and we love the detail at Gastradamus. I can see your a eco friendly person, so i would like to know what you think about SeaWorld, and Black Fish and the whole thing. I have a story about it at my blog Gastradamus and i would really like you input. take care and stay green

    • You keep making my day! Hahaha. Thanks so much! I appreciate your support! Hope you are having an awesome weekend. It’s raining here, but I can’t help going out and peeking at the baby bunnies in my garden! 🙂

      • We love bunnies at Gastradamus indeed, we love bugs bunny, but please when you get the chance check out and and comment on our fresh stories, “Why women with less makeup are better to snuggle with and the ever so famous “The young and the brestless”.

    • Thank you for saying so! It was fun to make. Easier than I thought and I really do use it all the time. My Mac’s been quite happy with it’s new cover! :)Have a great weekend Sarah! 🙂

    • Hahahaha! I am stoked you like this project. Hemming jeans is easier than you think. My big advice (if you are a beginner) is to hand sew it to see if you like the hem length. I did my daughters jeans by hand actually because she wasn’t sure if she wanted to wear them with heals or flats. I hope to see you hear again! Take care and happy weekend to come! 🙂

  9. I enjoy home made artsy craftsy stuff and folk art. Recently bought a DIY 35mm camera. A gazillion pieces to assemble. No way. Sent it back. I did not know what DIY means. Now I do.

    • That made me laugh. I too would have sent it back! I like DIY, but nothing with too many parts! Hahaha. Thank you Carl for popping into my little world. Take care and have a wonderful day! 🙂

    • Thank you for saying so! It really has been useful. I take it everywhere and the case has done its job! Wonderful having you stop by. Hope your weekend is awesome!

  10. Happy happy happy that Lynn (lynz real cooking) “made” me come and visit you 🙂
    Loving your blog (your about is smashing – sorry , English is not my first language but this is the word that came to my mind 🙂 and I mean it in a good way ) and looking forward to be inspired by your lovely and clever creations 🙂
    I so want to do a laptop case , you might be the one that makes me go over the ” fear of the sewing machine ” 😉
    Turtle Hugs

    • It’s so hard to let some things go! I have a sweater that I need to let go. It’s been with me through a lot and it’s all balled. Not fit to wear outside of the house! I’ve been meaning to make one like it! Nice of you to drop by. I hope you are staying cool. It hit a record high here today! Take care. Hugs! 🙂

    • Thank you. I have some left and I’m already feeling the sadness when I use the last scrap. Thank you for reading and kindly commenting. Hope to see you here again. Have a happy day!

Leave a comment