Yoga Ball Chair For Health

IMG_0573

My second ball. A new ball about every 10-ish years. Not bad.

Switching out a “chair” for a yoga ball! What?! Yep, that’s exactly what I did. I use a yoga ball daily for not only exercise but to “sit” on!

I’m always looking for ways to be kinder to my body and I’m always looking for ways to exercise while not “exercising” if that makes sense. What I mean is I try to get in exercise wherever I can. For instance while brushing my teeth I do leg lifts or wall squats.

Since I do a lot of computer work I wondered if I could work out my abs, legs, and back by sitting on a yoga ball. One thing I noticed right off the bat is my back feeling really good. No more achy feeling. My body didn’t feel tired and I felt more alert.

I experimented by moving my legs forward and back and wiggle side to side; both moves engaged my abs. I was onto something! Both fun and beneficial! I like that! Also, it gave me a great excuse to get rid of my highly uncomfortable chair! (In my forever quest for less stuff, that was another plus.)

I also noticed things like my back “self-adjusting”. And let me tell you… feels amazing!

So this is what I do: Sit on the yoga ball. My feet are flat for support. My legs are about shoulder width apart (I adjust feet positions for a change-up). There’s no rhyme or reason to any of my movements. The key for me is to not be still. I might tap my toes up and down or lift the heels of my feet up and down. I will wiggle side to side, rotate my hips around, move my legs forward and back.

If you give this a try, you can experiment with moves. I find it fun and anything to keep the blood moving is good in my book.

What sitting on a yoga ball does for me:

  • Reminds me to sit tall.
  • Reminds me to pull my tummy in. (Very important.) Always working the core!
  • Helps to adjust/align my spine. I’m always striving for ways to keep my back/spine healthy.
  • Relieves my back pain. I don’t have that nagging pain in my lower back when I’m done sitting anymore. I get up… and back feels great!
  • My abs feel stronger.
  • My low back feels stronger.
  • I’ve always had good posture, but the ball makes sure I do!
  • Keeping my body in motion is important to me, and this does just that!
  • I prefer sitting on a yoga ball now to a standard “office” chair. Or really any chair for that matter. I guess you can say it’s more comfortable.
  • No tailbone pain. I cracked mine a few years back. Owie. Long story…
  • My hips feel stronger. I don’t get that painful “pop” in them as often as I did. And really as I type this now, I can’t remember the last time that happened.
  • If you know me, you know I like doing things that have more than one benefit. If I must sit (computer work) then I want to exercise!
  • Not using a standard chair, I can stretch my arms behind me periodically.
  • My neck and shoulders are more relaxed and I feel the tension is much, much better.
  • Even though I am moving on a yoga ball, I still stand by my “standing up” every 15-20 minutes thing I do. I will do jumping jacks, squats, or even sit-ups and push-ups using the yoga ball. Check out Dr. Mercola’s post here on sitting too long.
  • I am more awake/alert. And that’s important especially if I’m doing research on a topic I find boring.
  • And most of all, it makes me happy!
IMG_7318

See how-to on lamp and desk.

Happy is good! We all have challenges, constant obstacles that get us down, but it’s up to us to get up, challenge those challenges and push those obstacles out-of-the-way. Sometimes as I work, a sad thought will creep into my mind and I know I can’t do a thing about that sad thought…I start bouncing on the yoga ball, almost as if I’m on a trampoline, and well, the sad is still there, but deeper in the back of my mind. In the midst of bouncing, the endorphins go up and I can actually find my smile again.

So if challenges and obstacles are pushing at you…push back!

Hugs to all my Awesomenesses!

Peace, Koko ❀

96 thoughts on “Yoga Ball Chair For Health

  1. Great way to engage additional muscles while accomplishing tasks requiring sitting. Many people with musculoskeletal pain benefit from making this change.
    The only time one needs to question sitting on a yoga ball is after an episode of imbibing in excessive alcohol consumption. It seems repetitive falling (although humorous) becomes an issue! πŸ˜€
    Great post.

    • Hahahaha! But it would make for good entertainment for those of us who don’t drink! Teehee! I hope you have having beautiful weather where you are. It’s been nice here and I can’t help enjoying the vitamin D! Thank you for the smiles. Be well Jonathan.

  2. Ah, I loved using the yoga ball for my desk work when I worked from home, for all the reasons you mentioned! Now I am slouching at my desk, and wishing I could bring my yoga ball to my job.
    Glad you shared this!

    • It does feel amazing doesn’t it? Sneak that yoga ball in to work! I dare you! Hahahaha. Thank you for stopping by. Super sweet of you to comment. Have a wonderful day! πŸ™‚

  3. Yoga balls…Not just for yoga anymore!!!!
    I can just imagine your dining room…
    A table, surrounded by yoga balls.

    I have said this before, but I love just how much you think outside the box!

    Keep it up.

    Great stuff!!!!

  4. I used a yoga ball to sit on during two of my pregnancies — my fifth (twin pregnancy) and sixth (singleton, but difficult pregnancy). It worked miracles for my back. I don’t know why I never decided to pick one up again. Maybe I should!

      • I think you’re right, Beautiful! I’m so thankful for your gentle reminder that a yoga ball isn’t just for yoga. I see an investment in my immediate future.

      • Take care of yourself Micki. Being healty/caring for our bodies and mind, helps others. That’s what spurns me on. If I am not well, the family falls apart! Hahaha. The laundry piles up and the dishes overflows. Teehee…kidding. But really we need to make sure ourselves are tip top so we can continue to be the glue that holds it all together. Hugs Micki! πŸ™‚

  5. Great post! I’m always sitting at work so I understand why you would always try sneaky ways of getting active. If only my job allowed yoga balls as chairs, I could be bouncing with joy all day!

  6. This was so interesting to read! I’ll admit, i’ve thought about a yoga ball, for sitting, and I’ve thought about a standing desk, too–anything but vegetating in a chair. But, I haven’t done anything about it! You make a compelling argument for changing my ways!

    • I don’t have a standing desk, but I do take my laptop over to my breakfast counter and stand and do work. Standing and yoga ball are my go-to when I do computer stuff. Stay moving is the key! Lovely to see you here. Thank you for commenting. I hope your weekend is wonderful. Take care. Koko:)

  7. I used to have a yoga ball and gave it away because I didn’t know what to do with it. I’ve regretted that decision several times since, and am regretting it again now. I might just regret it enough to go get myself a new yoga ball. I figure if I use it as a chair, it will get regular use, and then it’s not a waste of space and money anymore.

    • I say yes! Do it. My last yoga ball was a used one. I actually got it for free! I haven’t been to your blog. Miss reading about your new place and all the fun things you are doing with it. I will pop on over tomorrow. My elbow is out of joint again so I have rest to do! Take care Liam. πŸ™‚

  8. fun stuff! I have one somewhere. I deflated it when I moved two years ago. I thought about it recently when I spotted a DIY string Pendant Lighting fixture on Pinterest. Then that thought got lost in the fray. My back has been a mess since I started getting the yard into summer shape. I like the idea of exercising but not (I know exactly what you mean). My core needs some TLC, something to consider. Thanks for sharing. BTW, that’s a fun work station, I like the nerdy glasses on the blossom covered lamp shade. The juxtaposition is perfect. Cheers Boomdee.

    • I want to start by saying a warm thank you for all the attention you’ve been giving my blog! I’ve really enjoyed your comments and chatting with you! My core is always in need of TLC(I just love how you put it!). I’ve gotta keep stuff fun. Exercise can often start to feel like a chore! Those are computer glasses that help ease the eye strain when doing a lot of staring at the screen. I should do a post about that. Back to the back… I too am quite active in the garden. I do a few things that help considerably; stretch, heat pad, baths, yoga ball, and hanging on an inversion table. I have the “teeter” model. Works wonders for me! Got to take care of the back. When that goes out, so does my mood! Haha. Take care Boomdee!

      • You’re welcome and I’m happy to visit. Hey! BTW, I popped back to read your reply and there’s my bud Pauline πŸ˜€ Pauline and I traveled together in Virginia last spring, but maybe you already heard. Here I was thinking I might have been the first to arrive, LOL I should know better. Oh and Marlene too. I call her Wonderfrau sometimes because she’s like a little Wonder Woman but German, ha! Small world isn’t it? Cheers Boomed!

      • That is wonderful. So many unique and special people I’ve meet here! It really does make the world a little smaller. And happier too! You all bring me such big smiles! I hope your Tuesday is lovely. It’s been raining here. Which I don’t mind…plants need a good drink! πŸ™‚

  9. Ha! I wandered over for a return visit and find you sitting on a yoga ball πŸ™‚ I have a ball and I used to sit and bounce on it often ……. then I got a smaller house and it got deflated and is in a cupboard somewhere. I wonder if I should give away a chair and have the ball out instead ……. You are right it is good for you and it is a lot of fun. Thanks for the reminder πŸ™‚

    • Oh I’m so glad this has reminded you how much fun bouncing is! Sneaking in exercise wherever I can is something I gravitate towards. And when it’s fun, I tend to stick with it! Give that yoga ball a second chance! Teehee:) Have a happy day!!!

  10. I’ve often thought about one, but at my age and fragile bones, falling off could be catastrophic. I had a friend that fell off and cracked her tailbone. I also don’t think it would work while pushing a quilt around under the sewing machine. That’s the only time I sit in an office chair. I’m glad it’s working out for you though. Strengthening the back is important.

    • I don’t think I’ve ever tried sitting on one while sewing. I’d probably fall off! You’ve reminded me that I want to make a quilt. Nothing fancy. Just a simple one. I’m happy you stopped by. Thank you! Have a wonderful week! πŸ™‚

  11. That really resonated with me, Koko! All of it, from the back muscles to the tummy in, and the posture! I will do this too. I sit far too much, and while Dylan makes me to do long walks (which already have helped a lot!), I still sit and write or work on photos too much. Thank you ❀

    • I also find the older I get the more I have to do. I swear I move more now than I did 20 years ago! But my body says, “not enough!” I can use all the help I can get! Hugs to you Helen and thank you for reposting my post on twitter. Or whatever it’s called. Teehee. Me and technology…I’m still learning. Be well! πŸ™‚

    • It really is awesome! Glad to hear you are benefitting too! Be well and have a lovely weekend! It’s supposed to be super hot this weekend. Not sure where you are, but we are hitting record highs! Wheeeeeeee! πŸ™‚

    • It really has been great for me. A lot of positive came from using my yoga ball as a chair. And…if it doesn’t work for you, a chair is still a good thing. Remember to stand up every 15-20 minutes to let the blood circulate! Awesome of you to stop by! Cheers, Koko πŸ™‚

  12. Love it. Health and fitness can come in easy steps. Not just going crazy and paying tons of money to join gyms and get fancy gear. I love your emphasis on how easy it can be to take simple steps.

    I think you’d find my new blog has very similar posts. I encourage you to check it out! Like. Subscribe. Whatever. We are all in the fitness blogging game for the same thing. To spread healthy lifestyle as far and wide as we can. I am trying to build my network one comment at a time!

    https://millennialsurvivalblog.wordpress.com/blog/

    • I’m so glad it’s helped you! I tell you, it’s been such a good thing in my life. Small changes for me really equals to a well rounded healthy life. Thank you kindly for commenting. I truly appreciate it. Be well, Koko:)

  13. I use yoga balls often too after hearing the benefits. Pretty handy as a chair and also for working out! I’m feelin the last line of your post: “So if challenges and obstacles are pushing at you…push back!”. So true πŸ™‚

  14. Pingback: Yoga Ball Chair For Health – Best Paleo Cookbooks

    • Yay! That’s fantastic! I like stand up desks too! I use both. Well, technically my stand up desk is the bar in my kitchen. And as I work there I do leg lifts and such. I need to check your blog out. I love your name! Take care and have a great day! πŸ™‚

  15. Pingback: Yoga Ball Chair For Health β€” atkokosplace | Petite Girls Guide

  16. I sit about 10 Hours at my desk – unwillingly I might add – thinking about getting a standing desk – but this tip might just work better!

    Thanx for the post!

    • A standing desk would be awesome. When I’m not sitting in the ball, I stand using the kitchen counter. I’ve been trying to think of a way to make a table top so I can walk on my treadmill. I hope you get your standing desk or a ball! Thanks for popping in. I hope your week goes beautifully! πŸ™‚

      • Thanx, I’m starting my research for a ball and or standing desk today! Thank you, hope you week goes well as well, ❀

  17. I sit about 10 Hours a day – unwillingly I might add- was thinking about getting a desk stand –

    This might just work better! – Thanx for the tip!

  18. Have you had any problems with the height of the ball and your desk? Was it hard to find one that would work? I have thought about doing this at my office but am worried about getting on thats the right height.

    • This ball is perfect size for me at the desk I use. They do come in different sizes. I think I got lucky with this one being the right size. You can always get one and return it if it doesn’t fit the desk. πŸ™‚

    • It’s been great. I will even sit on it to watch tv! I hope you give it a try. If anything, it’s fun! And you can go back and forth from the ball to the chair. All in good health! πŸ™‚

  19. Pingback: Promoting Health And Fitness | Dr. Jamal Taha

  20. Ooooh, so that’s the secret – always moving! I considered it for awhile, then dismissed it because I thought I’d just learn how to sit still and that’s that. :p I’m gonna have to go get one soon!

    • It doesn’t allow you to not move. Hahaha. It really is silly fun sitting on one. Be careful though. I’ve gotten cheeky and have slipped off! It’s all good though. I love my yoga ball. I’ve tried a few and live the one I have. So sit on a few. They are not all created equal!

      • Oh! That’s interesting. How do you choose the size? eg should your feet be rested flat on the floor, or just your tip toes?

      • Feet flat. I aired my ball up really full. I don’t like it to be too squishy. My ball is on the smaller side as I’m not very tall. My husband bought me a yoga ball and it was wayyy too big and too soft. So, you just have to test a few out to find the right fit! Haha. Hope this helps! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

