DIY Desk From an Old Dresser

Using what you have and repurposing is what this post is about…

A space of my own.

A space of my own. See how to on the lamp shade here.DIY Lamp Shade

(I will be repeating some things incase some of you don’t watch the video.) 🙂

Click on the link here…DIY Dresser to a Desk

Tools Used:

Sander (DeWalt)

Sand Paper 80, 100 grit

Jig Saw (Ryobi)

Craft Paint (white)(water)

Paint Brush

Socks

Here is the old dresser.

Here is the old dresser. I had taken out the bottom two drawers years ago and added shelves. I painted it black as it went with a few of my other curbside finds when I was about ten years old! Yeah, that was some time back!

I used to sit on a bar stool because I was so little and I didn’t have the experience of using a saw or power tools and no one to help me. I improvised; which was something I did a lot as a child. I wish I had pictures of the awesome playhouse I built out of old pallets. Fun times with imagination!

Okay flash forward to the future. This “desk” was a side board for a bit, a table to house some books and knick knacks, and the latest; was used as a stand for an adorable fish tank.

I wanted to create a space of my own where I could draw and didn’t have to “clean-up/put away” every time. I found a new place for my fish tank and decided to re-purpose the already re-purposed piece!

I pencil marked where I needed to make the cut.

I pencil marked where I needed to make the cut. Got out my Ryobi jig saw and lopped off 3 inches so the desk would be more comfortable to sit at using a chair rather than a bar stool.

Double checking the height of the desk.

I sanded the whole thing using 80 grit sandpaper and finishing off with 100 grit. After sanding, I gave the desk a good wipe down and double checked the height of the desk.

khjlkj

I didn’t sand it all down to bare wood. I left some black to give the piece dimension.

Let the fun begin…I simply took white craft paint and watered it down. Armed with a paintbrush in one hand and a sock covering the other hand, I set out to white wash the piece. Going along with the grain of the wood I painted long strokes and then wiped off the excess. Some areas I wanted it to be brighter so I just added more paint. Remembering to always go with the grain of the wood. Adding and rubbing away with the socked hand until I reached the coloring and effect I was going for.

I decided not to seal the desk with wax or a poly. To me this wasn’t necessary. Not out of laziness, just not needed. However if you decided to do a project like this and choose to seal…by all means, do so! I figured I am not needing to “protect” it and perhaps in the future if I wanted to wash it over with another color I could easily do so.

So basically what this is about is using something you already have in your home. I am making a point to NOT buy things I don’t really “need”. I really want less things in my life. And taking a table that was essentially sitting around not only made me be creative moving things around my home, it gave me a new piece of furniture that I can really put to use. Since remaking this desk, I use it almost daily! Now that’s what I call smart! And not having to spend money to do so was even smarter!

Making a space for just you is important. It can be a corner of any room. A comfy chair to knit or read or a desk to create. A place where you can be you and do a project or craft or read or simply look out a window. A spot where you can breathe again. I need to breathe again and this little area helps me to do just that. I can breathe and sort through my thoughts in my tiny creative space.

I hope you make a space of your own. It’s important. YOU are important. Remember that!

You, my followers, are in my thoughts. Take care and may peace follow you.

Best, Koko ❀

Check out the video to see a couple of my kitties photo bombing and the cat tree/scratching post I built. They do use it! 😉

70 thoughts on “DIY Desk From an Old Dresser

  1. I have read A LOT of blog sites and have never come across one as versatile and productive as yours. I love what you make for yourself as well as your furry friends. They are very fortunate to have you in their lives.
    Stay productive, happy and healthy. 🙂

    • It’s always wonderful to get kudos from you Jonathan! I think the versatile blog is my inability to choose one thing! Not sure if that is a good thing, hahahaha! Happy fall to you and your family! ❀

  2. Love this, great job! We just recently re-did our home entertainment center. I’m pretty addicted. I can’t wait to get my hands on more furniture. Ha!

    • Thank you so much for saying so! I appreciate that a lot. It is fun isn’t it? DIY…doing things yourself. I have so many projects and one I can’t wait to have time for….I wish you well with your projects. Keep on DIYing! Best to you, Koko❀❀❀

  3. Awesome…….love,love,love ,making something new out of something old! Am in the process of helping some friends go through an old general store/grain mill filled with old stuff. Some useful stuff, and somethings that need some ‘vision and a lift’ to make it to it’s next place. I truly love the innovation of seeing something in a piece that risks being tossed. Fine work you’ve done with your desk! breathing new life into something old, the best!

    • You are very kind! Day made; thank you! How fun to sort through what might be a treasure trove full of wonderful things. Keeping my fingers crossed for some amazing finds! Have a beautiful day. Mine will be better because of your comment! Take care!:)

    • You are a doll! I appreciate your kind words! I just don’t like throwing things out if I can make them useful and new again. I tell you it’s been wonderful carving out a space for myself. This piece of furniture has been good to me! Take care this week and may happy follow you! 🙂

      • Thank you. Everything has purpose (except mosquitoes, IMO, lol). It’s for us to find the beauty and usefulness in them. You’re doing that so wonderfully.

        Walk good, beautiful soul. 🙂

  4. I wish I were this crafty! You are so creative. This is amazing. I feel like it can also be used in a hallway with a lamp or maybe some special photos to fill that awkward space. I love this idea!

    • You totally can do this. Seriously I don’t have any special talent. If I can, you can! And that is a great idea. Now all I need is a hallway that this will fit! Hmmmm I have been thinking about moving! 😉

      • Thanks for the encouragement!! I have a 2bd/2ba apt but the rooms and baths are separated from everything else by a long hallway…maybe I can get Eileen on board and together we can do this project!

      • Yes, you girls should do this! Go to a yard sale or thrift store or build something simple and white wash it! The beauty of “washing”, you can use any color too! Bottom line, have fun with your stuff…it’s just paint. I have taken a piece and washed it several times as my mind changes…Enjoy life Roci. Happy to see you here! 🙂

    • Awe, thanks Helen! I really love it. And the change in color fits nicely with what I’ve got going on. It’s great to see you here and read your thoughtful comment. Hope your fall is spectacular! Lots of rain here, but I love it! Take care!

      • Thank you, Koko! I’m glad you’re enjoying autumn – it’s rainy here today, so a bit gloomy. I love it when it’s sunny best 🙂

    • Hi Katie! I’ve owned too many homes that needed fixing up for me to be afraid! You do have to respect the tools and safety always. It sure makes the job easier! Thank you for stopping by. It means a lot! Happy Halloween!

    • Thank you for saying so! It was nice to repurpose this piece for a space that’s for me. It came full circle! Teehee. Great to have you stop by. Hope the rest of your week is wonderful. Koko❀

  5. Beautiful desk! Gave me lots of ideas! You are right, we really do need a space of our own! You know what they say, less is more! Why buy if you already have it. Whatever it is, if you DIY it has more value 🙂

    • Mari you made my day! I have really tried the last few years to adopt the less is best attitude. If I can repurpose pieces and move things around to get more use of something, for me, it’s just better. I’m tired of having stuff that isn’t useful. More to clean too! And I’m at the point in my life where I need to stream line things! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. Have a fantastic rest of your week! Best, Koko:)

    • Awe that makes me so happy to hear! Yes try DIY first. You can really personalize it and find just the right piece. Check around your house, thrift stores, maybe ask a relative if they have a desk or something like that that is just collecting dust! Hope you get your sewing table! We all deserve a space to create! Cheers to you, Koko:)

    • Thank you for saying so! This small space has been such a stress reliever for me! I use it all the time and it is so nice not to have to “clean” up my pencils and whatnots… I am happy to see you! Hope all is well with you! Take care, Koko❀

    • Thank you kindly Tiny! My weekend has been lovely. Seeing you here makes it even better. Hope you are having a wonderful weekend too and hope you have sunshine. Today is the first day with blue skies. I love gloomy drizzly days, but it had been almost a week of that! A beauty out today for sure. Chilly, however, still beautiful. Take care! 🙂

  6. Pingback: DIY Simple Wall Fix In Seconds | atkokosplace

  7. Pingback: DIY Tea Box Repurposed | atkokosplace

    • This desk is quite the workhorse. I can’t remember when it wasn’t around. Since this DIY, I use it daily. Space of my own. Thank you for your kind comments. Be well, Koko:)

  8. Pingback: Yoga Ball Chair For Health | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

