DIY – Make Your Own Bed Frame

lakdfj;aldskjf

If you can’t find a bed frame that you like…build it!

I’ve never found a bed frame I was happy with. It started with making bed frames for my kids at all stages of them growing up. I wanted them to have as much play space as possible because every kid needs space to make epic Lego scenes or twirl around to their heart’s content, am I right?! So their beds were built up high so they could play underneath (ie; camping reading nook etc.) and as they got older, desks were built-to-suit to fit nicely under.

I wanted a frame high enough to keep the dogs off of the bed. So this is my build…

3/4″ Plywood: 2 sheets, depending on what size frame you are building.

4×4’s Legs: However long you need, buy accordingly.

2×4’s Sides, top and bottom of frame: However long you need depending on building for twin or queen or king. Also 2×4’s for the underside of the frame for support. (see photos below).

6″ Carriage bolts, 2 per leg = 8

Hex nuts for the carriage bolts = 8, one per bolt.

Washers = 8, one per bolt.

“L” brackets for support on the underside of the frame.

Felt for each feet to prevent scratching of your wood floors as well as a buffer between the 4×4’s and the 2×4’s (see picture below).

Paint or stain

Tools:

Chop saw

Skill saw

Hammer

Wrench – Proper size to use on hex bolts.

Drill with proper size drill bit to drill holes. Also, drill for screwing screws into 2×4’s.

Screws or nails

Clamps – trigger clamps

Measuring tape

I want to start off by introducing this...

I want to start off by introducing this tip…This is felt. I buy it by the sheet and cut it to suit. I use them under most furniture to help me move them around the room without needing any help whatsoever! How cool is that!?

See the felt? I doubled the felt because this build is heavy! I was all out of dark brown felt, though the white isn't really noticeable. I could take a marker and color the edges...again, not a big deal. ;)

See the felt? I doubled the felt because this build is heavy! I was all out of dark brown felt, though the white isn’t really noticeable. I could take a marker and color the edges…again, not a big deal. πŸ˜‰

The basic build is to first figure out the height you want the frame to be. Don’t forget to account for the measurement of the plywood on top. In this build I used 3/4″ plywood.

I used 4×4 for the legs. I wanted the chunky look, plus it’s very sturdy. I measured for the height and cut the 4×4 using a chop saw.

Measuring out for a queen size I measured and cut 2×4’s for the frame to go around the entire bed. You can screw or nail the 2×4 together creating a “box”.

alkdjflakjdflakjf

To attach the legs onto the 2×4 “frame” you can use trigger clamps to hold the 4×4 into the corner so you can pre-drill for the carriage bolts. I pre-drilled one hole per side corner off setting them so one is closer to the top on one side and one is closer to the bottom. I drilled through the 2×4 into the 4×4 all the way through!

lkajdflaskdjf

After the holes are pre-drilled I inserted the carriage bolt. This is where the hammer is needed to pound the bolt through. Once the bolt is through I used a washer and then a hex nut to secure the 4×4 in place. Before I go on I want to mention: Before the legs are set into the corner, I cut felt to put in the corner before I placed the 4×4 leg. The felt is to prevent the wood rubbing against each other.

What do you think of the floors? It took me a day and a half to lay the wood and one day to stain and seal. A walk through post about the floors coming: please stay tuned!

ladkjf

After the legs are bolted in place, I cut the plywood to fit using a skill saw. Drill the plywood into the 2×4 sides.

laksdjflaskdjfals;kf

Here you can see the felt in places where the 4×4 would touch the 2×4 sides. And you can see how I’ve off set the bolts.

lakdsfjasdklfjjaslkj

Here you can see I’ve run 2×4’s across the underside of the frame. This is for support. I also used “L” brackets for more support.

At this point you can leave the wood natural, paint it, or stain. I chose to stain it. I had left over stain from doing the floors. I just rubbed the stain in and let dry. I then did one coat of water based poly on it.

IMG_1674

lkajdflakjdf;lakdsjf

Kitty approves! Β I need to do this technique on the lamps so they look like they match! Woohoo, another project. πŸ˜€

Tips:

If you have trouble finding 4×4’s you can use 2×4’s for the legs using 2-2×4’s in an “L” fashion.

When building a high frame such as a bunk bed style on top and say a desk area under, use 2×4 supports on three sides. Β And for the ladder you can add more 2×4’s for the rungs.

Buy untreated wood only. You don’t want pressure treated! Some stores don’t carry untreated in the stores, but may be able to order it. ASK!

If you can’t find the right bed frame…build it!

If you want to see what I’m up to, follow me on instagram or twitter. I put up different things that don’t always make it onto the blog.

Share your smiles and your good wishes around. You never know who might need it! Now go out and be awesome! Β Best, Koko ❀

106 thoughts on “DIY – Make Your Own Bed Frame

  1. I love the way you just crack on and do it. See something you want to do and don’t think of all the reasons why you can’t do it just do it! It’s an enviable quality. I’d be worried about so many things before attempting a task like this, or the floors even, and yet I a creative and practical person. The bed looks great and the floors are amazing! πŸ™‚

    • Your words are going to take me throughout the week! You are super kind to say so. Really! I have to admit my brain never takes a brake. The wheels are always spinning for things to improve my own life. The builds I do to the garden, I want easy, functional, and well I do want it to look nice ;). Well if you ever get stuck on something, shoot me a message. Sometimes two heads help! Hugs to you and thank you again. You’ve made my day. #GoodEnergy πŸ™‚

      • You’re welcome. And I might take you up on that at some point πŸ˜‰ In the meantime, I shall continue to read about your wonderful projects πŸ™‚

  2. Smiling throughtout the entire article. You are amazing. You take “work” and make it fun! And, obviously the final critic (your cat) approved of a well done job. Now drop and give me 30 more pushups! πŸ™‚

    • Haha as of writing this message I’ve done 120. At this rate I should hit my goal. I am caring for one of my kitties, so sleep isn’t something in my agenda, however maybe a nap! This build was fun. And it does the job. Even the Great Dane can’t jump up on it! Gotta have some boundaries right!? Keep that smile throughout your day. Its sure to catch on and start a trend! #GoodEnergy πŸ™‚ Koko

  3. I would like to know if you have a giant “S” monogrammed on all of your clothing, because I am becoming more and more convinced that you are, in fact, WonderWomanβ—οΈπŸ’ƒ

    Good stuff!!!!

    • Thanks Jim! I really appreciate that! Once I got over being scared of using a skill saw…it’s like I can’t stop! Hahahaha. Take care and have an awesome day! πŸ™‚

      • Good for you. I have built several item using stove bolts as you did. I like the felt you used to eliminate wood creaking. I like your solutions as you think through what you are building–SMART! –jim

      • From doing things like this since I was a little girl…. Trial and error! Hahaha. I like to think I’m smarter now however I still make mistakes! Thank you for commenting Jim. Have a good evening! πŸ™‚ Koko

  4. This is pretty sweet! It’s amazing how seldom we think about building our own stuff. Saves a lot of money and is totally unique. I’ve promised my wife a custom made bench for our foyer. Promises are great, but following it up with a complete project is awesome! Hopefully by the end of the summer I’ll have a bench done for her.

    • I believe you will! I still think of your rain barrels! That was so cool! I always think first, can I build it, make it, sew it….saving money is awesome! And you are right unique/custom is great too. Draw up those bench plans!! πŸ™‚

  5. I have to say I look forward to reading you post. All your different kinds of DIY are always so amazing. I love it !! Thanks for being so crafty but also for sharing πŸ™‚

    • Your words really touched my heart! I’m sitting down to dinner(you can see it on Twitter) haha and I read your comment out loud. Thank you so much for being to sweet and thoughtful. Have a delightful evening! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for saying so. I have no complaints. I’d make this again exactly the same way. It’s sturdy and the savings on what it would cost for something as sturdy would be way more than I’d be willing to pay. Thank you for reading! Happy Thursday! πŸ™‚

    • Saving money is what started this DIY journey. Though I do like working with my hands and more I like the designing and creativity. Just fun really and I can make what suits me. Thank you for your thoughtful words. Hope you are having an awesome day! πŸ™‚

    • Teehee! You are seriously my new BFF! πŸ™‚ I figure I have to build what I like. It’s not always easy but the results are worth it. Let’s keep inspiring and spreading that good energy! Have an awesome weekend! πŸ™‚ Koko

    • Indeed! When the kids tired of having their beds high, I chopped it down but still high enough for their bucket of toys and such. Great to have you here Sonia. Have a wonderful weekend! Koko πŸ™‚

  6. Oh, I’m full of awe, Koko! I don’t think there’s anything that you can’t pull off! You just start a project and push through with inventive solutions…and make it sound so simple and fun πŸ˜€

    • Tiny you are the best for my ego! I must tell you, between you and me….I have scrapped a few builds in my time. Teehee. I’d like everyone to know if I can, so can anyone else. And, I hope I explain it easy enough. You are the best and I really mean that! You’ve been here since the beginning and I appreciate it more than words. Have a lovely weekend. Hugs from afar! Koko πŸ™‚

  7. Very beautiful frame! I love the detail on the ends of your carriage bolts! It’s the amazing attention to detail like that makes me envy your decorative skills! ❀

  8. Like your other readers, I’m really impressed. Thanks for the instructions – I think I need to look into this. And get some felt!

    Looking forward to the post on laying wood floors…. I so want wood floors throughout the house.

    • The felt really is handy under the legs of furniture! Also if you are doing a build like this, the felt helps with the wood creaking together. I love wood floors and with pets, so much easier to keep clean! The days of shampooing carpet are over! πŸ™‚ Happy Saturday to you!

  9. i wish i was as craft-y as you! but i actually did make a cover for my bed headboard yesterday which is nothing compared to what you’ve created but i was pretty proud πŸ˜‰ hehe

    • That’s awesome. I’m going to pop over to your place to see if you posted it. Isn’t this blogging world great?! You get to see, learn and be inspired by so many and you’ve reminded me…my daughter has been wanting me to build her a headboard! Your blog is super amazing and the pictures you take are sooooo nice! Fresh, clean and crisp come to mind. So pro! Please come back again Annie. Love having you here! Take care QT! Enjoy your day!

  10. love it! I have the opposite problem with our new bed – since the mattress is much taller than our last it has been quite an adjustment for my short legs (and little pup who is allowed on the bed)

  11. Koko you are brilliant, I love your floor and homemade bedframe. I have a door catching on my wooden floor and the best I could come up with was holding some sandpaper under the door where it catches and opening and shutting it lol

    • Thank you kindly for saying so. I couldn’t find what I wanted so I made it! Bedding is from Target! πŸ˜‰ On sale too! I’m happy you took time to peruse! Have a wonderful Tuesday! πŸ™‚ Koko

  12. LOVE! Turned out so well! The picture with your kitty on the bed is so cute πŸ™‚ Our cat is always stretching out on our bed too. Our bed frame is just a plain metal one. I’d LOVE to build our own eventually, and upholster a headboard too! Thanks for the inspiration πŸ˜€

    • An upholstered headboard is on my list as well! So many projects, so little time!! Haha. I hope you get to build your bed and headboard sooner than later! Nice to see you here! Have a lovely rest of the week! Cheers, Koko πŸ™‚

    • Awesome! You’ll love doing it. Keep in mind you can make the height that suits you. Also under bed storage for days! If you use it for storage you can measure so it fits just right. Best wishes to you! Happy fall! Koko:)

    • It is a comfortable bed! I am looking into an organic mattress. Maybe latex. I would love to make one from wool, but soooo expensive! My kitty is so funny. She loves when I make the bed with new sheets. She just knows and jumps on the bed! πŸ™‚

    • The kids loved them. Now that they are grown. I lowered the legs and there’s still room to put containers to store winter/summer clothes. Thank you for stopping by Sandra! Happy Christmas and best wishes for the coming year! Peace, Koko❀

  13. This is a beautiful bed! I absolutely love the stain color matched with the metal headboard! Have you had trouble with mold on your mattress? We had to make open slates on our homemade bedframe, because our wood floors allow the breeze in…

    • No, we’ve never had a mold issue. I play with the temp indoors and keep things airy. The stain is left over stain from when I stained the wood floors. No waste! Hahaha. It’s awesome to see you here. Please come back again. Have a beautiful day! πŸ™‚

    • I hope you do do it! I totally get the “project list” thing! Mine is so long I wish for more hours in a day! It feels like when one project is done, twelve others take it’s place! Hahaha…but that’s what makes it fun. πŸ˜‰ I love your blog. You inspire me to keep going! I’ve seen your projects, so I know you can do it; it’s making the time….right?! I can’t wait to see what you come up with! Take care Erin and thank you so much for commenting and checking my blog out! You are awesome! Koko:)

  14. Wow! Now I am a bit envious of you, to be honest… even if my father has a background as a carpenter, I probably couldn’t build anything even if my life depended on it! This is so inspiring to see.. 😊

  15. I love this design and am looking for a good solid frame to make. I have one question, though. I have read that a lot of moisture is produced by sleeping on a mattress and that’s why most bed frames have wooden slats for bases to allow the mattress to breathe. Your design uses sheet plywood which is a lot simpler and provides extra rigidity. Have you had any issues with musty smelling mattresses?

    • No musty smells at all! This frame is a frame I’ve built and used for the better part of two decades! Never have I had an issue with smells. I am in the south now where there is a lot of humidity too. I only have a top mattress on the bed you see there. My daughter sleeps on the same type frame but only with a mattress pad. My son sleeps on same type frame with a 4 inch pad. All of us have no issues with odor. I have to say a plus to this frame is that it is solid. No movement which is nice. No squishy feeling you get on a metal frame. If you make this, remember to use felt between all wood pieces to help with wood to wood contact; it takes all the “noise” out. I didn’t do this with the first bed build and the squeak was noisy. So I fixed it by using felt and have used this method ever since. I hope you get the chance to build one. I really believe you will like it. Especially custom building to the height you want; keeping in mind if you want to put bins under your bed or build tall enough to keep pets off. When my kids were younger, they had bunk bed height to have a play area underneath. When they got older, they used the same frame, just lopped the legs down to a regular height. πŸ™‚ Nice to have you stop by. Have a wonderful week! Koko

Leave a Reply

