Fruity Frozen Greek Yogurt Ice Cream Sandwiches

IMG_0993 This is an old family favorite. Perfect for anytime. What I like about this is you can make it with basically any fruit. You can even swirl in your favorite jam! I had a lovely basket of strawberries and bananas (a staple in my house) just waiting for me to do something fun with them!

IMG_0984

Wash the strawberries and dry them!

IMG_0988

Perfect ripeness!

IMG_0983

Line your pan with as many graham crackers that will fit. But keep in mind if it is larger than this pan shown; you may need more filling! But that’s okay, this recipe is forgiving. Just chop up a bit more and add a 1/4-1/2 cup more greek yogurt and whipped cream! Easy! See no worries! πŸ™‚

IMG_0989

Scoop out the goodness onto graham crackers.

IMG_0990

Gently spread out the mixture.

IMG_0991

Top it with a layer of graham crackers. Almost there….

IMG_0992

Cover ice cream sandwiches with foil. And set in the freezer for 3-4 hours or until set.

IMG_1002

Lift gently out by using the wax paper, parchment, or foil as your helper!

IMG_1003

Cut em up!

IMG_1004

Finally…eat! You could wait about 5 minutes before eating them to give them a chance to soften a bit, but if you are anxious like me; to heck with the 5 minutes!

Here goes: 1 cup chopped fresh ripe strawberries 1/2 cup chopped bananas 1 cup greek yogurt 1 cup whipped cream graham crackers How to: Line a baking pan with either foil or wax paper (parchment works in a pinch). I used a square pan and it fits 7 graham crackers across by 3 graham crackers. Basically line your pan with as many graham crackers that will fit. If your pan is larger, you may need more filling; just adjust accordingly. This recipe is absolutely forgiving! So have fun and play with how thick you want the sandwiches to be! In a medium bowl fold the greek yogurt and the whipped cream gently together. Then fold in fruit. Scoop the mixture out onto the graham crackers and spread out the mixture evenly. Top mixture with a layer of graham crackers. Cover the pan with foil and set in the freezer for about 3-4 hours or until set. After sandwiches set; lift out the entire concoction holding by the foil, wax, or parchment paper (whichever you used) onto a cutting board. Carefully slice into it. I used the lines of the graham crackers as a guide. Most came out in squares with three pieces in small rectangle size. (Which quickly became my treat as I was plating them!) πŸ˜‰ This is perfect fun dessert to make with kids. A perfect summer treat, spring treat, anytime treat! Great for eat alone treat or with a bunch of friends. This is so versatile and most fruit could be used. I love blueberries, but not in this recipe because when the blueberries get super frozen it can be difficult to bite into. But I have done it with them. And as I mentioned above…you can swirl in your favorite jam into the yogurt and then fold the whipped cream in and you wouldn’t even need to chop up fruit. It’s quicker to make and perfect for little helpers! There you have it; quick to make dessert you can do ahead of time and have on hand for that drop in friend that stops by just to see your happy face!

Smile abundantly, laugh until your tummy hurts, and have arms open for that person that just needs a hug! Then…give them this dessert!

Your constant support means everything. It always puts a smile on my face to see your wonderful comments, and likes, and follows. YOU are the best! Peace, Koko πŸ™‚

92 thoughts on “Fruity Frozen Greek Yogurt Ice Cream Sandwiches

    • I agree Laura…perfect for summer. It’s in the 50’s here today, but I’m having this as I type this! I had to put a sweater on! Not minding though! Hope your day is a good one. Hugs back at ya! Koko

    • They are tasty! And I admit I had one for breakfast! There’s Greek yogurt in there so it’s healthy right!? πŸ˜‰ Have a wonderful day Roci. I’m happy you stopped by! πŸ™‚

      • You are my kind of friend! Have a great day Roci! BTW…when it comes up I tell people how cool of a name you have! You are the first Roci I know…seriously cool name. Well done parents! πŸ˜‰

      • Hahaha thanks! I think Koko is a great name! My name is actually short for Rocio, I’m not sure if I’ve told you that before! It means “morning dew” or “soft rain shower” in Spanish. My mom picked that name because she wanted a daughter that would be her companion and bring her peace.

      • It’s lovely and I did read that on your blog. Your mother must be absolutly precious! The shorten version and long is awesome. Best to you both! Koko πŸ™‚

      • Thanks Koko, that means a lot! ❀ and she's wonderful she's my angel. I hope you have a wonderful rest of your day!

  1. Thank you for posting this. I’m planning to try it out. It will better for a summer treat than a regular ice cream sandwich, with the fruit and yogurt. Good job, and nice pictures! I’m afraid mine will be messier than yours! πŸ™‚

    • Yours will come out beautifully! I just know it! Thank you Kim for kindly commenting. Please come back and in the meantime I hope your day is splendid and full of happy! Koko πŸ™‚

    • Yes indeed! Do it! I had some amazing organic jam that was chocked full of berries and it worked wonderfully in this. The variations are limitless! Happy to have you here! Thank you for taking your time to comment. Enjoy the day friend! Koko πŸ™‚

    • πŸ™‚ It is tasty and easy, which I like the easy part. Well tasty is what it’s all about too! I hope you make this. It has been a go to here for a couple of decades! Skies the limit in what you can come up with! Enjoy! And thank you for stopping by! πŸ™‚

    • I know right!? I have to be careful I don’t eat the whole lot! But they are so healthy right so maybe 2-3! Make them. They are too easy not to, but easier to eat! Enjoy Dear, Koko πŸ™‚

      • I’ve already seen this type of recipe on american blogs but i’ve never tried! I think i’ll try it with Speculoos (do you know these biscuits?)! Bise bise! πŸ™‚

      • I’m not familiar with this type of biscuits but I was going to mention on the post almost any type of flat cookie could be used. Try it with Speculoos. I’m sure it will be amazing. Thanks for reading. Have a wonderful evening! πŸ™‚

    • I tell myself that since they are healthier, I can eat more! Bahahaha! Seriously though, you can make these as healthy as you’d like and they will still be wonderful. Apricots are nice and refreshing and raspberries are super good in this recipe. I hope you make them. Enjoy! Have a lovely evening! Koko πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Maybe Not As Forgiving As We Need It To Be | The Weekly Day

    • I read it as soon as I saw it and WOW, you did an amazing job! I totally giggled through your writing. You had me smiling the whole time! Well done on the recipe! Let me know if you’d be interested in more easy recipes and of what type; dessert, breakfast, lunch, etc.. Any way, well done! Loved your post! πŸ™‚ Take care, Koko

      • More easy recipes, yes! Any kind of recipes. We like to try just about anything. By the way, even though our graham crackers were old, everyone loved the dessert πŸ™‚

      • That’s fantastic news. They looks delicious! I just made another batch today. I doubled the recipe and swirled in some jam. This pan I used was huge. I had to make sure it’s fit in the freezer! Anyway I will post more easy to do recipes. You guys are awesome. Have a great weekend! Koko:)

    • I just made a new batch! Especially this time of year, we go through a lot. I made them in a much larger pan! I swirled in some jam this time too. I hope you’ll give em a try. Have a wonderful weekend! πŸ™‚

  3. Oh my! We Are totally trying this. My boys are going to be so excited when I pop these out of the freezer. Great post! Thanks.

    • You are so welcome! I doubled the batch today! I had to first make sure the larger pan would fit in the freezer! It did and I must say my son was thrilled! And he’s 22! Hahaha. Never too old to eat an ice cream sandwich! Have a happy weekend. I appreciate you being here! Enjoy!

    • Everyone keeps devouring them here! The last time I made it I didn’t add any powdered sugar to the whipped cream but I added a 1/4 cup of organic jam to it; delicious! Super forgiving. I’ve got to check out what the Ospreys are up to. It’s been a busy couple of weeks with the fam here. Wishing you well Tiny! πŸ™‚

    • They are! Do try them. This can be done with almost anything! We’ve even done it with a favorite ice cream. Just let the tub melt a bit on the counter and there you have it! Yesterday I swirled in some jam. It was amazing! We all had two! Hahaha. Enjoy! And have a wonderful weekend!

    • That’s a great question…I’ve never had them last more than thee days in the freezer…as in they are eaten. Usually eaten by the time they set up! But I’d say at least a week. Freezer burn and all might occur depending on the temp and whatnot of your fridge. Give them a try. Enjoy! πŸ™‚ Koko

  4. This may be the best blog post I’ve ever seen. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Literally, it was well presented – photos not over-shot nor words over-wrought. πŸ˜‰ (The two most common bloggy-downfalls.)

    And the subject is more than intriguing! We’ve talked about trying to make ice-cream sandwiches, but never thought of using graham crackers! LOL. Ice cream is yummy, but so sweet and usually more processed than necessary, so using a yogurt base is genius! Add fruits, natural sweeteners if you must, nuts or whatever on the inside! Now I need a grocery run! πŸ™‚

    • I am super happy you liked this and I am totally humbled with your kind words. I try not to be too wordy with all my posts. Yes I agree that ice cream sandwiches can be too sweet. You can also try different bases besides the graham crackers. I don’t remember what they are called but there are these biscuits that by American standards could be considered a not so sweet flat cookie. Any way you get the idea. Your comment really boosts my blogging confidence! I really appreciate your thoughtfulness and for reading. Enjoy your ice cream sandwiches! Best, Koko πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Koko! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and introducing yourself! I just took a long look around your place here and I’m so impressed. What a fun blog and I’m really looking forward to reading more. Love your about page and I love these ice cream sandwiches too. I’m picking up the graham crackers today, my son will be delighted. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you Jovina! It means a lot, especially coming from you! I am humbled. This is a happy treat in my home and when someone opens the freezer and there isn’t any left I immediately hear crying! Hahahaha Thank you Dear for coming by and taking the time to comment. Cheers! Koko πŸ™‚

    • Yes so healthy I tell myself it’s okay to have them for breakfast! πŸ˜‰ hahaha. Really though, it’s good and you can add a lot of beautiful fresh fruit. It’s a great treat for anytime. Best shared with friends! πŸ™‚

  6. I can’t believe the number of comments on this recipe. Look at all the lives you have helped by showing a healthier alternative to processed high fructose corn syrup desserts. You never cease to amaze me.
    Hope life has been treating you well. It was wonderful seeing you back on wordpress.
    Stay healthy and happy (always!!)

    • I don’t even know the number! Hahaha. Making my own foods really helps control the many “bad” things that come in quick foods. Making small changes )decades ago) has really added up to the cleaner way of eating and caring for my body as well as those around me. I made a lovely mock apple pie in indivisible servings that was quite the hit. I even had it before dinner! Why not?! Life’s short! As for healthy did I mention I got my new inline skates in the mail?! Super excited! Take care! πŸ™‚

      • Hahaha! Thank you for remembering! My chiropractor said he’d never seen a dislocation such as mine before. I wasn’t sure whether I should be shocked at how bad it was or tickled because I was a special case! Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

