DIY Cat Tree, House and Scratching Post

Spencer, King of everything!

Spencer, King of everything!

I was given a great spool. You know the giant spools electricians carry massive amounts of wire wrapped around? Well I was given one, and not gonna lie, the array of ideas that invaded my head of all the things I could do with said spool. This is what I came up with…

Cat tree...bed and scratching post. See they love it!

Cat tree…bed and scratching post. See they love it!

Off to my wood pile I went…

I went to my scrap pile and found some 1×6’s. It would do nicely to make the “lid” or rather the top to my kitty condo. I laid out three pieces of 1×6 boards and drew a circle using the “spool” as the template. You can use any size width wood and lay however many pieces it takes to get to the size you need. You could also use a piece of plywood and cut a whole circle instead of using the tree boards. But as I mentioned I wanted to use up my scrap wood. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I clamped down each board and used my jigsaw to cut the shape.

I clamped down each board and used my jigsaw to cut the shape.

One more to go!

One more to go!

All cut out.

All cut out.

Finishing the lid, I used 1×2 to connect the three pieces together. I wish I had a kreg jig to make pocket holes. But this method works too. ๐Ÿ™‚

As you can see I used a lot of screws!

As you can see I used a lot of screws!

I set the lid aside and started to assemble the sides. Again going to my scrap lumber pile I was able to find 1×4’s.

Sanding all the pieces…I had to sand quite a bit, to rid them of the dents and discolorations. After sanding the boards I used a chop saw to cut the boards the height I wanted the “cat house” to be.

I contemplated using “L” brackets to hold the boards in place while I screwed each 1×4 to the top of the spool, however I ended up just screwing them straight to the spool using two screws per board.

I screwed two screws per board from the bottom. See the "L" bracket? I removed it as I found it wasn't necessary and the clamps really didn't help much either! :)

I screwed two screws per board from the bottom. See the “L” bracket? I removed it as I found it wasn’t necessary and the clamps really didn’t help much either! ๐Ÿ™‚

You can see from this pic that the boards are wonkie. Don't let that discourage you! It will all work out in the end! Promise.

You can see from this pic that the boards are wonkie. Don’t let that discourage you! It will all work out in the end! Promise.

After all the boards are screwed from the bottom, I put the lid on and began to move boards into place so I could screw down from the top of the “lid”.

The wonkie boards will come together...wait for it...

The wonkie boards will come together…wait for it…

I knew the screws would be showing. So I spaced them apart to be appealing to the eye!

I knew the screws would be showing. So I spaced them apart to be appealing to the eye! And see all the wonkie boards are in place as promised!

Onward!

To the base of the tree…I used sisal to give the kitties an awesome scratching feature! I achieved this by using hot glue and good rope. You don’t have to glue the entire base. You can glue a few inches, wrap the rope, glue a few more inches, wrap rope…and so on…Keep going until you’ve reached the desired look!

This is the rope I used. It's sisal; a natural fiber. There was no odor on the rope. I've bought sisal before via online and gosh was that a mistake! The smell was so awful that no amount of soaking it in any type of solution would get the stench out! I make a point now to only buy rope if I can touch it/smell it. This was from HomeDepot.

This is the rope I used. It’s sisal; a natural fiber. There was no odor on the rope. I’ve bought sisal before via online and gosh was that a mistake! The smell was so awful that no amount of soaking it in any type of solution would get the stench out! I make a point now to only purchaseย rope if I can touch it/smell it. This was from HomeDepot.

I started right under the sleeping quarter.

I started right under the sleeping quarter.

photo (23)

My helpers!

Glue and wrap, glue and wrap.

Glue and wrap, glue and wrap…

Another helper...

Another helper…

I stained the whole thing with dark walnut left over from a flooring job I did.  I put three coats of water based poly after.

I stained the whole thing with dark walnut left over from a flooring job I did. I put three coats of water based poly after.

As you saw I stained the piece before I added the sisal. If I were to make another I would probably stain and seal beforehand. Though in the end, I was careful not to get any on the rope. This was an easy project that really didn’t take long at all. Maybe a couple of hours? The longest part was waiting for the stain to dry and the smell to dissipate.

The kitties really like it and this piece doubles as an end table! Remember the lamp shade I made? Hereย I staged the lamp on that. But since then, I’ve moved it about the room where ever an end table is needed!

This was a fun project and I was happy to create something for my furry friends. They really do like it and love scratching their claws on the sisal. I hope you enjoyed this post and it inspires you to make something for your pets too!

And as you can see...not just for cats!

And as you can see…not just for cats!

Please like, follow, and share, your support means the world to me. It really does! โค

From my furry friends to yours…All the best, Kokoโ€

110 thoughts on “DIY Cat Tree, House and Scratching Post

  1. Koko, I must admit to you right here and now… You’re an Amazing Woman… I love this project you did for your cats.. You did a beautiful job.. and I dearly look forward to seeing what you do next.. Seriously, we need to be neighbors ~ the power tools would be on fire, crafting โค

    Take care sweet lady, from Laura ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Your comments always make my day! I’d love to have you as a neighbor! We’d make so many things we’d have to open a store! Thank you for your thoughtful words! Have a glorious weekend Dear Laura. I hope the sun has melted all the snow. I know how you’ve been wanting to garden outdoors! Hugs to you! Koko

      • Koko, you’re most welcome and I mean every word in my comments to you… I love that store idea ~ what would we call it.. I can dream of finally putting all of these talents combined with yours to good use.. To dream is to feel alive..

        Take care and happy blogging to you my dear, from Laura ~

      • Blogging makes the world so much smaller. I’m so thankful people can make friendships that otherwise would never happen. Let me think on the name. Wow a gorgeous day here in my neck of the woods. How about where you are?

      • Koko, it’s picture perfect here today, and I’ve been spending most of the day outdoors, racking the remaining leaves from Fall, and picking up tiny gifts from my dog in the back yard.. All in all it’s a amazing day here… But, my back is going to kill me tomorrow as I know I did too much today… Oh well… it’s spring and I’m very blessed and happy…
        Hugs to you my dear… from Laura

      • I feel for you! My back gives me the same trouble. Try electric heat pad. It can do wonders! Also Epsom salts bath! Your day sounds amazing! Hug, Koko

    • To be able to make that in 2 hours is real skill. They sell similar, but not as well-made examples, for a fair bit of money over here.
      During the mid 1970s, we used to use two similar reels as side-tables in a shared house. They were not cleaned up, or stained, jut wheeled in and upended!
      Best wishes, Pete.

      • Yes I remember when I was a kid I used a spool as my bedside table. I covered it with a cloth. Also if you can find a sturdy one a nice seat it makes! Thank you for commenting. It’s a beautiful day here, I hope it is where you are too! Enjoy the weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Reblogged this on Is it really that easy? and commented:
    My dear friends, this is a post you’ve just gotta see! This woman Koko is very amazing and talented.. Please take a few minutes and take a look.. You’ll be glad you did, I promise.. hugs to everyone, from Laura โค

    • You are so sweet to say so! I think my kitties are very happy with me and these projects I do for them. They follow me around like I’m the pied piper! Haha. Thank you for reading. Hope your weekend is wonderful. I’m hoping for some sunshine! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Tiny! I try with all my might to come up with stuff. Super happy they love it! They scratch the heck out of it which saves the furniture! That pup is Evan. He was destined for the pound! But not on my watch! Have an awesome day T!

    • Hahaha…. Im so happy you like it. I’m searching for another spool. It would go great in a bedroom next to a bed. Thank you Jo for taking the time to comment. Means a lot. Have an awesome day! I’m currently watching rain fall! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Do it!!!! It is so much fun to create and say, “I did that!” Thank you so much for popping into my little place. Hope to see more of you! Go create. I’d love to see what you come up with. Best wishes, Koko

    • I drew the plans in my mind and as I was doing it I did have a moment of panic. But as I was building it, it really did come together as pictured. Easier than I thought. The cats do love it! And that makes it worth while! Thank you for your comment. Hope to see you again! Have a lovely night.

    • Mine do! Then again they aren’t too picky. They love sleeping in boxes of any size and paper sacks too! Hahaha. Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Awesome Tree House Scratching Post!! ๐Ÿ™‚ Your pet’s must have been like ‘Wow Mom, like you are so COOL!!!’ My sister is a veterinarian and big animal lover too. She is starting up her own Pet Care Center and I wrote the post below to help her out. Being the animal lover you are, I thought you might find it interesting ๐Ÿ˜€ Keep up the great work!!! https://savesomeoneyoulove.wordpress.com/2015/06/19/support-the-ethical-treatment-of-pets/

    • Awesome! I’m going to check out the link. I wanted to be a vet when I was a little girl (among other professions). I’ve always had a love for them. In my house no matter where I am they always follow so I am never far from my posse apparently! I’m surrounded by my own secret service agents! I hope my crew think I’m “cool”! Have a wonderful day! And thanks for the link!

    • Thank you so much for saying so Ana! I’m happy you found your way here! Your cats will love this! Mine scratch in the post daily not to mention napping in and on it! Have a wonderful Sunday! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. This is a very inspiring entry. We have cats (4) and I just had to tear down my “catio” due to my remodeling project. As I was contemplating how we could make the inside of our home more cat-friendly, I came up with some ideas which expand on your original concept. The pictures were the best, and it is obvious that the cats love it. And so does your little doggie.

    Thanks again, and I hope to have some ‘cat friendly’ remodeling results in the not too distant future.

    • I’d love to see what you come up with. A “catio” would be so great to have! In the house I’m in right now, I’ve been trying to come up with something where they can go outside through a place in the window…they would climb up and over a walkway into their own “catio”! Not sure if it will happen in this home, but the idea sure is nice. Please post pictures! I can always use ideas too! Thank you Frank for stopping by. I really appreciate you commenting. Have an amazing week ahead! ๐Ÿ™‚

      • You are so crafty! Bread-making and wood-smith! You master the two things I wished I could do! ๐Ÿ˜€

      • You are so kind Hari. I do think you could easily do these things! If you do take up baking and woodworking…. Don’t stop your story telling and keep on drawing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Pingback: DIY Desk From an Old Dresser | atkokosplace

    • Your comment had put a needed smile to my face this morning. Thank you for such a nice words. The cats do love it. And makes a nice surface to set a coffee cup when they are napping elsewhere! Have a happy Sunday! ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: ๆ„›็Œซใธ่ดˆใ‚‹ใ‚ญใƒฃใƒƒใƒˆใ‚ฟใƒฏใƒผใ‚’ๆ‰‹ไฝœใ‚Šใ—ใ‚ˆใ†๏ผ๏ฝœไฝœใ‚‹ใจใใฎใƒใ‚คใƒณใƒˆ | Makit![ใƒกใ‚ญใƒƒใƒˆ]

  7. Pingback: Cat scratching post and tree | the zen of living smaller

  8. Pingback: DIY Shelves | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

