Save Space Shoe Storage DIY

Look, look, look! Over 15 pairs of shoes, virtually taking up no space at all!

Save space shoe storage DIY. Say that tongue twister three times fast! πŸ˜‰

Whether you have a lot of space or a little space this shoe/multi purpose shelf will come in handy. This shelf is great to show off any collection whether it’d be tea pots or books or toys! Possibilities are endless.

I built the shelf over the closet and corner shelves for shoes as my daughter has a small collection πŸ˜‰ Β I like that it displays her shoes in a pretty way as well as not take up any precious floor space!

jfjf

When the shoes were stored in their boxes, my daughter found she didn’t wear them as much. This way she can see them and it makes choosing a pair very easy and fun!

picstitch (14)

Also don’t overlook over the door hooks to hang a jacket, purse, or next day clothes!

Check out this awesome jacket here...

Check out more info on this awesome vegan leather jacket on Smashing Glitter. here…

kdj

Very convenient to have things out for easy access, but not taking up any “floor” space. And you avoid “the stacking over a chair” look!

This is how I did it…

Buy brackets

I picked up these brackets at Target on sale for under five bucks for two! You can find brackets at any home improvement store. They come in many ornate shapes in metal as well as wood. All I did was decide how wide I wanted the shelf. Β  Β In this case I got a 1″ x 10″ which in reality is really 1″ x 9 1/4″. (That has always bothered me. A 1″ x 10″ should measure exactly that!) Β After you decide how wide you want it, the next thing is to decide how long. I wanted it to go from the corner to a little beyond the closet door. You can have the home improvement store cut it for you or you can cut it yourself. I already had the wood in my go-to-stack-of-lumber, so I just cut it myself using a compound miter saw.

I lightly sanded the board and stained it with stain I had left over from a project. You do not need to sand or stain the board. You can leave it as is. You can also paint it any color you want or you can just varnish it with a clear water based varnish.

Okay…moving on to the corner shelves.

Corner shelves can be bought

Corner shelves can be bought at Target or home improvement stores. You can also make them. I normally would make them, however these were on sale and to make them would have cost me more. So in this instance it was a no brainer to not have to put the work into it.

Here you can see there are cleats that hold up the shelf.

Here you can see there are cleats that hold up the shelf. Find the studs in the wall. If you do not have studs use wall anchors. You can learn about them on my other tutorial here. Once the cleats are attached to the wall, you place the shelf on top. You can then screw it down from the top or hot glue the shelf on like I did. How you attached the shelf really depends on what you are putting on it.

Don't you love it?!

Don’t you love it?!

Below...above. :)

From below…………then above. πŸ™‚

Creating more space without really “taking” up space is a win-win! Shelves like these will help you be more organized and being more organized helps you find things! Make more room without “taking” up space!Β You too can do this!

Please like, follow, and share. Your support means the world to me! Also if you follow me on Instagram or Twitter you will get sneak previews of upcoming posts and snippets into my life!

If you have any questions drop me a comment. I’m always happy to help.

Happy space creating, Koko❀

69 thoughts on “Save Space Shoe Storage DIY

    • I handle a drill decently, though I have lots to learn! When you have as many four legged and two legged beings as I do running around, one must be organized. As always Tiny, your comments are much appreciated and enjoyed! Have a spectacular day!❀

    • She has to be. She is on-the-go so much that if she isn’t somewhat tidy she can’t find things to get ready in a hurry! Thank you for being here Charlotte. I hope things are going well for you! Hugs❀

    • Thank you. I appreciate your comments always.❀ I tell ya, since putting this in, her room has stayed looking so nice. I also put in a closet organizer. Finding stuff makes getting ready so much easier! Hahahaha.

  1. Hi, what an idea, especially the shoe shelf on top of the closet. That’s something I will definitely apply. My tools have been sitting ideal for a while. Thanks for sharing your ideas. I will definitely follow you for more ideas. Keep them coming. Thanks again.

    • It really does come in handy and even if you have space why waste it?! πŸ™‚ get your tools out! I’d love to see what you come up with too! I appreciate you commenting. Please stop by again I’d love to hear what you have to say. Have a great day! πŸ™‚

    • It’s been a process! I just tackle one area at a time so I’m not overwhelmed. Before I knew it I could breathe again! Hahaha. I appreciate you stopping by. Means a lot! Have a glorious day! πŸ™‚

  2. Jesus Christ man! You’re pure awesomeness! Don’t know if missed something, but it seems like all of these projects are yours? If that is true, then this must really be a passion of yours. Truly impressed.

    • Yes they are mine. I hope you keep coming back. Your comments made my day! I will be posting the kitchen island I made out of scrap lumber and hen there’s the deck I did last summer…. Stay tuned! πŸ™‚

  3. Koko, this is yet again a great idea.. and I can see my daughters shoes all nice and tidy at last.. hugs for the post my dear..

    Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    • Yes indeed. That’s one of my next couple posts! I built the same shelf for my son. He has quite the hat collection! Thank you so much for stopping by. Have a great Monday! πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! It really is helpful. And keeps things neater too. Your more inclined to putting things away if there’s a place for it! Thank you for commenting. I appreciate it. Have a super Friday! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

