Easy DIY Cabinet Space Saver You Can Do!

picstitch (7)

Ooooh…Ahhhh… Cute polka dots!

Organizing is always on the forefront of my mind. For me it just makes sense. I can find things and easily store things and that makes my life run smoothly.

Is your cupboardΒ full of coffee mugs; stacked one on top of the other? Mine was a mess. And I worried that they’d chip being cramped in such a small space. Also I couldn’t showcase how cute my cups were. This is what I did to free up valuable cabinet space as well as something pretty to look at and make me smile…

I took some paper (taped pieces together to make it large enough) and made a template. I then measured out how far apart I wanted the cups. Keeping in mind to give room so the cups don't hit the back of the wall.

I took some paper (taped pieces together to make it large enough) and made a template. I then measured out how far apart I wanted the cups (see orange dots). Keeping in mind to give room so the cups don’t hit the back of the wall.

After the template was made I taped it to the bottom side of the cabinet. I then took a 16d otherwise known as 16 penny nail (any nail or sharp pointed object will do)(though I like using nails better as it makes a great starter guide hole) … Using a hammer I tapped once or twice straight through the paper at each dot/mark. Your goal is to make a “guide” hole to make it easier to screw the hook into.

After the template was made I taped it to the bottom side of the cabinet. I took a 16 penny nail (any nail or sharp pointed object will do) ... and tapped it straight through the paper at each dot/mark I made.

And then comes the easy part…I removed the template and screwed each hook into the holes I had made using the 16 penny nail. (For those of you who don’t know what a 16 penny nail is–it’s just a very large nail.)

Hang cups...

Hang cups…

To complete the look...insert coffee pot here. :)

To complete the look…insert coffee pot here. πŸ™‚

This coffee pot also does hot water. See my review here

Factoid:

The “d” in 16d refers to “penny”. Way back in the Roman times the “d” stood for denarius which was what they called their coin (money) then. The nails were hand forged during that time period (obviously…hehehe) and was said that a hundred 3 1/2″ nails cost 16 pennies. Hence the name we now use as 16 penny nails or also can be referred to as 16d. The cost of one hundred 14d nails (during that time) was 14 pennies and so on and so on… πŸ™‚

Nails come in many lengths from 4d on up to 60d. There are different shaft shapes too!

This was a very easy project anyone can do. Yes YOU! I believe in YOU! The cost was my time (FREE–though I wish I were paid…hehehehe) and the hooks which run a few dollars. Tip: You can use newspaper or paper bags to make a template with. Any questions you might have, ask away!

Save some cabinet space and give this project a go! If you do, please post it or email me a picture. I’d love to see your collection of mugs!

Enjoy your day everyone and please like, follow, and share, your support reallyΒ touches my heart. ❀Koko❀

70 thoughts on “Easy DIY Cabinet Space Saver You Can Do!

  1. Great post for me … I have a full cabinet with glasses, so this will work like a charm in my kitchen.. hug to you ..

    Take care and happy blogging to ya, from Laura ~

    • So glad this was helpful. I was just given some nice glasses that are still in the box because of lack of space. And now since doing this project, I can unpack them! Hahaha. ❀

    • My brother told me about it. He and I have done DIY projects together. A factoid he shared with me during one of our home renovations. He’s got am incredible memory. I had to call him up to remind me of some of the details.

  2. Reblogged this on Paris Renovation and commented:
    In Paris, every square centimeter is precious. This is a fun article on how to gain more cabinet space with an easy DIY project. And for the carpentry lovers out there, read on for some interesting facts concerning the trusty ol’ 16 penny nail.

    • Yes it really helps as I am one to like perfect spacing. I know it would bother me if the hooks were “off”. Hahaha. I too love the bread box. I would have bought two had they had more. I got the last one an have yet to see another like it! Thank your for perusing! ❀

  3. I love that you really creates objects yourself. That you are practical and not the slightest afraid tools. That are characteristics I really respect. And you do things that really enhances your surroundings. I personally need every tip about keeping it neat and organized around me that I can find…

    • Thank you for saying so. I have to keep things organized here; I have too many four legged family members and a few two legged! It can get crazy if things don’t have a place of their own! Thank you so much for stopping by and taking time out of your valuable day to comment! Best, Koko❀

      • Minnesota! It’s not snowing or below zero anymore!!!!! Lol! It was 60 degrees and sunny for awhile. Now it’s back down to the 40’s. But we pretty much expect it here. Wouldn’t be surprised if it snowed one more time before spring :/

      • Oh my! I was thinking another cold front here too. This is the longest winter I’ve seen in the 6 years or so I’ve been here. I am think I hear the west coast calling my name! πŸ˜‰

      • Lol! Yes, my parents are living in San Diego for the winter this year. My dad opened another tattoo shop out there, and I can’t wait to go visit! He is focusing on breast cancer survivors out there, it’s really amazing. He’s on instagram and facebook, check it out! Garnet Tattoo, Mastectomy Tattoo, and Twilight Tattoo is his shop here :]

      • That’s amazing about your dad! I’ve done reconstructive tattooing too. The work is very rewarding. I will check out his work! San Diego is beautiful! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. It’s a gorgeous day I hope you get to get out and enjoy it! Best, Koko 🌸

  4. I am with you on being organized, I feel I can fit into a day more if things have their own place and I can find them easily. But..! I would have never thought of using a big nail to make way for screws, what an idea! Very neat!

    • I’m full of those tidbits of ideas! Hahaha. I’m glad you dropped by and took the time to comment. I always wonder if I’m on the right track. Have a wonderful night!❀❀❀

  5. I especially like doing this kind of storage with cups, since their handles usually make them bad for stacking in upright storage. Mine hang from black finish nails on the *side* of the upper cabinets, since there’s more space there in this particular kitchen, but it really *is* handy to have them out, easier to find, and not languishing in tip-over heaps in the cabinets. Bonus points if, like yours, the cups are pretty and a great thing to show off anyhow! πŸ˜€

    • πŸ™‚ And when everyone comes over they know just where to find the cups! I wish I had done it years ago…then again, it all depends on kitchen set ups. These cabinets happen to be high enough! Thank you for popping in an taking the time to comment. Have a wonderful weekend!❀❀❀

  6. I love saving space like that! Great post and fun history information too! I am now following your blog and look forward to reading more post. I have a new blog chemistrycachet.com check it out if you get a chance πŸ™‚

  7. Pingback: Review Cuisinart Coffee Maker | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

