Cha-cha Chai…a delicious hot beverage you can make at home!

picstitch (16)

I am a Chai fanatic!  I’ve tasted it made many ways.  It was a delight to try this recipe from  http://figandquince.com/2014/02/03/cacao-herbshoppe-brooklyn-cardamom-yummy-drink/ (Chai; brought to you by, Fig & Quince!)  

As she mentioned in her recipe…all ingredients; adjust to your taste!

As for the ingredients, I made mine with 2 cups grass-fed raw unpasteurized milk

8 whole cardamoms

10 cloves

1 tablespoon organic cacao powder

1/2 teaspoon organic ground ginger

1/4 cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon good vanilla (homemade by me in Bourbon)

1 teaspoon raw unpasteurized honey.

Slowly simmer the whole cardamoms and cloves in milk. When milk is hot, add all other ingredients.  Gently stir.  Pour into large mug and enjoy!  (I didn’t strain out the cardamoms and cloves, but for those of you who want to…please do! 😉 )

picstitch (19)

This was a wonderful treat and sipping it by the fire was extra nice.  Thank you Azita!

If you try this drink, please drop me a comment.  If you have a chai recipe you’d like to share…I’d love to hear from you!

Here’s to you finding your “treat” today! Cheers! Koko ✿

Please like, follow and share…your support means the world to me!

32 thoughts on “Cha-cha Chai…a delicious hot beverage you can make at home!

    • Oh good! And if you have a favorite chai recipe; I hope you will share 😉 I am thinking of doing a chai by infusing the cardamom and cloves and a stick of cinnamon…for another post! 🙂

    • It comes in handy! I got that one going this morning and have had it burning most of the day! The dogs love it too! They will lay in front of it and then turn to the other side for roasting! 😛

  1. This sounds great (: I don’t think I’ve ever had a chai that includes cacao powder! Usually I just use a combo of nutmeg, cloves, ginger, cinnamon, cardamom, and black pepper (and honey of course)
    It is supposed to be very cold this weekend so I will have to try this recipe (:

  2. Oh my gosh, that fire! I’m rapt. I’m also beyond thrilled that you tried the recipe and it proved to your liking. I love your photographs of it. Thank you so much for sharing! xoxoxo

    • Okay, I’m a little jealous of your weather. Try this by simmering cardamom, cloves, cinnamon stick, and fresh ginger in 2 cups of water. Then add one or two (good brand) black tea bags. Let sit in pot for two minutes. Take out tea bags. Sweeten to taste. Strain out all solids. Pour over ice! ✿

    • That’s fantastic. What a joy it’s been for me to see all your messages. I needed a boost today! Life sometimes…. I’m so happy you enjoyed your chai drink. Cooking is wonderful. You can adjust and make a lot of things to suit your own needs. I love that! 🙂 Enjoy your evening. Koko

  3. Pingback: DIY Tea Box Repurposed | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

