Bronchitis…Pneumonia…Oh No!

The whole month of October flew out the window without much notice.  Days passed me by and I couldn’t tell you if it was Monday or Friday.  That time of year to “fall-back” with time change, and now, it’s November! What?!  Twilight zone just happened and I was cast right in the middle of a confusing episode!

I’ve been absent from the blogging world for some time.  Sadly, I’ve missed so many of my favorite bloggers posts.  Having moments here and there to read some of them has given me hope that all my days aren’t filled with coughing, fevers, aches, pains, nose blowing, and the sounds of the breathing machine whirling at what seems like a constant in the background, oh my!

My kid has been down with bronchitis and pneumonia for many weeks, poor thing.  Then my other one decides he can’t be left out and got it too!  I hear it’s going around the college campus and hundreds of kids have it!  Gah!!!!  They should have posted warnings that everyone should come to school with surgical masks or a diving helmet.  You know the kind the underwater divers wear? Or a giant bubble you can encase yourself in to protect yourself from the elements!  Seriously though, you can practice good washing habits and dress accordingly, but sometimes that just isn’t enough.

After weeks of caring for the family, I too got struck with some kind of bug.  It wasn’t a bad one, but then again, what is bad?  For me, I’d have to be almost dead on an emergency helicopter on the way to the closest hospital, before I call it bad.  I got the on and off fever and the nagging cough that wouldn’t allow me to sleep even a couple of hours through the night.  For a moment I thought I was going to have to turn in my “S” card (superwoman).  I was determined not to let it get the best of me. I powered down a ton of vitamin drinks and elixirs that could make one question my sanity.  I didn’t care.  I wasn’t going to let this bug turn into something Halloween dragged to my door.  After a few days of bewitching potions and concoctions I am proud to say my “S” card is safely tucked into the back pocket of my work jeans! Rawr! I told that bug where to go.  Okay, so my voice is still gone, but then again I never liked the sound of it much anyway.

So wash those hands, bundle up, and if all else fails and you catch it anyway…find the remote, have a good friend on speed dial and grab a huge thermos of something hot.

Miss you all and can’t wait to catch up! Hugs, Koko

 

14 thoughts on “Bronchitis…Pneumonia…Oh No!

  1. Omg I am so sorry for all of you. I hope y’all feeling better now. I had a flu shot yesterday. My daughter is coughing like hell, the weather is cold but what to do? Enjoy your weekend!

    • It was many tough weeks. Breathing is pots of steam, and downing concoctions after the other….I know this cold is so crisp. One day it’s warm then bam! Cold, then kinda warm, then freezing! Weather brings it on! Staying warm doesn’t always cut it. The cough stays for a long time 😦 After the two kids getting it I was determined not to have mine become what they had. It was luck basically. I hope your daughter gets rid of the cough fast and feels better soon!

  2. So happy to “see” you again! Great that everybody is on the mend now. I’ve always believed in the old say “when it rains it pours” so now that you’ve had the rain, sunshine shall prevail! And maybe you even like your voice this time when it comes back 🙂

    • Oh yes! let that “sun” shine down on me! hahaha. The sun is even out today! Oh how I’ve missed days of it. Sure makes you appreciate it more! I’m still at the whisper stage. I know whispering is hard on your vocals but I’ve got nothing else. Have a lovely weekend Tiny!

  3. Sorry to hear you and your family have been sick Koko. I wondered where you were in the blogosphere. I missed you! I take Pycnogenol (pine bark extract). It’s a superantioxidant, more potent than vitamin C. Take good care of yourself. xo

Leave a Reply

