Mums The Word!

Mums the Word! Nay, nay… I will not be silent.  Oh mums how I love thee….

picstitch (8)

Chrysanthemum Morifolium

Summer is fading and so are the flowers we all have loved like Calendula, daylily, the ever so delicate petunias, hibiscus, Echinacea, and one of my favorites; lavender. The list goes on and on, but don’t fret, the passing of summer blooms, come the renewal of fall beauties.

Today I am going to highlight mums. To be more precise, chrysanthemums. When I think of fall, I think of mums. I know it isn’t fall yet; I for one dislike rushing the seasons, yet with my garden center bursting with mums, I know fall is near, and this, excites me.

For a pop of color in your landscape, I highly suggest the chrysanthemum. This plant will be the rock star in your garden as it blooms like crazy showing off the many flowers. If you are not familiar with mums you are in for a color treat, because once it starts blooming, the entire plant looks like one giant bouquet! And the best part is the flowers don’t die out in a a day or three, but, lasting for a long, long time; weeks in fact! So you see why I say mums are like rock stars? They obviously like to show off their awesome talents with amazingly long lasting bloom-after- encore-bloom; which is fine by me.

For the most part mums are a perennial. I say that because if you plant them too late, they may not survive the winter as the roots might not have the chance to really “plant”
themselves. Planting in the spring time is best and with proper mulching it will give the plant a very good chance at surviving the cold winter months. If you plant them about six weeks before the frost, you should be fine. I am hoping that is the case with my mums. I couldn’t resist buying twelve of these beauties now. There’s something about looking outside and seeing bursts of color here and there when everything else goes dormant.
(When winter arrives and the blooms stop blooming, cut the plant back close to the ground.)

Did you know you can separate these plants? Well you can; but only do so every two years or so. What you do is dig up the entire plant and separate out the best looking parts; careful not to disturb the roots too much. Get them in the ground or a pot as soon as you can so you don’t dry out the tender roots, or put the plant in too much shock.

If you are looking for something to adorn your front porch this fall, try the chrysanthemum, as they make great container plants. Mums can make an inexpensive pot look like a million bucks! A couple of pumpkins around the base of the pot and you will have an adorable fallscape on your porch!

What fall flowers do you love?

picstitch (11)

Mums, mums, and more mums!

Factoid Time:

Mums the word comes from Shakespeare’s Henry VI, Part 2, Act 1, Scene 2. “Seal up your lips, and give no words but mum.”

Mums the word means to keep quiet.

In Middle English; mum means silent.

Grab your shovel and plant some happiness :D!  Here’s to all you awesome gardeners and wannabes like me!  Koko.

16 thoughts on “Mums The Word!

  1. Every time I see Chrysanthemum, I wonder if it is the edible type or not. I probably should not do that, thinking of everything as food. L-O-L!

    • You can eat the flower petals of Chrysanthemums, but only the greens from “Chrysanthemum coronarium”. You may want to snip off the white part of the petals as it can be bitter. You can make a tea from the petals…I know this interests you right Hari! 😉

      • Ha ha ha
        You are right! I have always wondered if all chrysanthemums can be drunk as tea!
        😀

  2. Pingback: Fun Flower Facts: Chrysanthemum | Grower Direct Fresh Cut Flowers Presents…

Leave a Reply

