Lemon Zesty Blueberry Muffins

photo (75)

This was a request from my husband.  All he wanted for his birthday was a bunch of lemon zesty blueberry muffins.  His biggest challenge was fighting the kids for them! (Actually it wasn’t too difficult.  Both kids had a full day of college classes and didn’t come home until the wee hours.  So dad got to have his birthday muffins all to himself! He saved them some 😉 )

This is a very easy and forgiving recipe.  I’ve also made this with orange zest. Very tasty.  The hardest part about this recipe is finding beautifully plump blueberries.

This Made 18

Muffin cups or grease muffin pans
2 cups flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
1/8 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 1/2 cup blue berries
2 large eggs
1 cup whole milk (I use raw unpasteurized)
6 tablespoons grape seed oil
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
The zest of one whole lemon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Mix together flour, baking powder, sea salt, then add brown sugar and blue berries.

In another bowl beat eggs, milk, oil, vanilla extract, and lemon rind.

Every recipe I’ve read says to make a well in the dry and pour the wet into it…well, I did the opposite and added the dry to the wet. I noticed no difference. Not saying the “well” thing isn’t a good idea, just that it made no difference in the outcome.

Fill muffin cups about 3/4 full. Bake for 20 minutes or until golden on top. (All ovens are different. Please keep that in mind.)

I made these with a lemon cream cheese frosting.
8 oz of cream cheese.
1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
zest of one whole lemon
5 heaping tablespoons of powdered sugar
whipped in kitchen aid until fluffy

This was enough to top all muffins nicely.

 

 

22 thoughts on “Lemon Zesty Blueberry Muffins

  1. Blueberries are pretty rare in where I live… (but I can find almost any Chinese herbs! How weird is that?!!!)
    I think substituting the berries with rum-soaked raisins would be a great idea. What do you think? 😀

  2. Yum! Blueberries have been delicious and plentiful around here this summer and I notice we can get Meyer lemons in the store again. Will have to try these, I love that flavour combination. Thanks for sharing! Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Meyer lemons! Oh lucky you!!! It’s a rare fruit here. When I was in Cali they were everywhere! How I miss them. I hope the muffins come out good for you! Thank you for taking the time to stop by. I’m in my way to the dairy for raw milk! May your weekend be sunshine and smiles! 🙂

  3. These look amazing! I’ll have to make some for my mom who adores anything lemon and blueberry. Thanks for checking out my blog and liking one of my posts!! I just started a couple of days ago and greatly appreciate the encouragement. To be honest, I’m a little lost in the mechanics of it all but am enjoying the learning curve 🙂

    • You just keep pushing forward. You can do this! I am tech challenged and I can do it! Hahaha. I too appreciate you commenting. It really is thoughtful of you to take your time to drop me some words. Keep your blog going. It is really a nice memory of things you are doing. Great to look back on too! I hope the sun shines warmly on you today. It’s so beautiful out, I’m going to get some sun in while I get my hands dirty in dirt! Peace, Koko❀

Leave a Reply

