DIY Garden Gate Peace and Roses

Busy weekend, but still made time to smell the roses…

I’ve been enjoying reading up on the great blogs you all have.  This weekend had me in a frenzy getting the house ready for a party.  Fun, fun, fun.

I built the third gate.  This gate should have been the first one.  It’s the most important one; well to me it is.  It leads to my garden.  I open my back door and about 30 steps away is my sanctuary.

I am getting better at building these things.  Faster too.  With each one there have been tiny hic-ups because each is a different size and I needed to account for the weight because of the wider widths as well as land sloping up or down.  All in all, it’s been fun building them.  One more to go!  I am hoping to have that built by next week and then…Chicken coop! Can you say, “bwok, bwok?” I can’t wait! 😉

photo (45)

Third gate. Zucchini plant to the left; I can already smell the zucchini bread!

The party went off without a hitch.  Great fun and lots of live music.  I finally went to sleep; 4 am came fast!

photo (42)

Smelling the roses.

I so love all the pictures you all have on your blogs. All of you out there that can grow roses…I take my hat off to you! As you can see this plant has the dreaded black spots. All my neighbors tell me you can’t grow roses around here. I am starting to agree. When I lived on the west coast my roses grew prolifically. I miss them very much. My father-in law grew them and I was happy to have the chance to take over the job of caring for them. It’s one of the things I miss very much when I moved down south. Here in my garden, I am happy I got one to smell! I know this plant won’t last, but for it’s short life, I am thankful.  Hope you all had a great weekend! Make the time to smell the roses. Life is short!

Thank you for your kindness and support through comments and follows!

Peace be with you, Koko

11 thoughts on “DIY Garden Gate Peace and Roses

    • It’s difficult to make the time, but I try in forms of riding my bike outdoors, catching a workout in between everyone else’s lives and the vacuuming, or a facial in the middle of the night. As for the garden; thank you! It is a work in progress. Have a lovely day!

    • Thank you! Gardens are always a work in progress, but I do enjoy getting my hands dirty. As for the gates it was fun. The whole family put in the fence; with projects and life over a year later, I finally got around to building the gates. I hope the chicken coop comes out nice. Stay tuned…hehehehe 😉

    • You are too kind! When you have to work in a budget you learn to do a lot yourself. If you check back; I’m going to post some pics of the hardwood flooring I laid and stained. It was fun. Hard work, but very satisfying; though my back begged to differ. 😉

  1. Pingback: DIY Garden Gate | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

