DIY Easy Garden Gate How To

Garden gate…two down, two to go!

Here’s my second gate.  This one took me less time to build than the last one.  Progress! (about three hours counting painting) This gate is wider than the first one, by over a foot,  so I had to build into it a little more support.  I also added an extra hinge in the center.  I don’t know if it was necessary, however five years from now I don’t want the gate wobbling or sagging.  (Though five years from now it would be nice to be living near the beach again…oh how I miss the ocean.)

Measured out the width of gate and where I wanted the bottom and top slat to be.

Measured out the width of gate and where I wanted the bottom and top slat to be.

Laid boards out and measured out the distance apart I wanted.

Laid boards out and measured out the distance apart I wanted.

Screwed all boards and drew a curved line at top of gate. I cut it out with a jig saw.

Screwed all boards and drew a curved line at top of gate. I cut it out with a jig saw.

Added cross pieces for more stability.

Added cross pieces for more stability.

Finished and painted. That's my garden behind that gate! One of my favorite crepe myrtle trees on the left. Love the blossoms!

Finished and painted. That’s my garden behind that gate! One of my favorite crepe myrtle trees on the left. Love the blossoms!

Do you enjoy building things? I’d love to hear about a project you’ve done! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to read. I hope this finds you happy and healthy and that you are doing something that makes you smile. Peace, Koko

3 thoughts on “DIY Easy Garden Gate How To

  1. Pingback: DIY Garden Gate | atkokosplace

Leave a Reply

