Fresh Face; Skin Brightener!

The awesome part about making beauty products at home is the versatility.  What works for some, may not for others, and in a lot of cases, one ingredient can sub out for another. Know what you are allergic to, and know what is SAFE to use.  Do your own research. Read, read, and read some more!

Here’s what I use when my face is feeling congested.  This recipe is great to loosen dead skin cells.  I really do notice a brighter, fresher complexion.  I make variations on this and I will post them in the future; so stick with me.  Lot’s of fun ideas and tips.  There will be plenty of recipes to choose from for different skin types and concerns.  Okay, let’s make something fun.

Fresh Face; Skin Brightener…

5-8 aspirin (uncoated aspirin)
1/4 teaspoon Vitamin C powder (can purchase at any health food store.  I buy mine on-line through Swanson vitamin.)
1 tablespoon fresh squeezed lemon juice (I just pour enough to cover the aspirin.)
1 tablespoon half and half or milk.  I like the fat kind.

Dissolve aspirin in lemon juice.  Then add half and half and vitamin C.  Mix well and brush on face with an artist brush; fingers work too.  Leave on for 5-10 minutes.  (I usually leave mine on for 30 minutes.  (If I have left over mask, I will often times reapply about ten minutes later, also I put this on the back of my hands and upper chest area and neck.)

When I’m ready to take it off,  I dampen my skin and massage the grainy stuff in small circles all over my face (more exfoliation action!) (If you have sensitive skin or broken skin, I would skip the massage.)  Rinse with warm water.  Follow up with moisturizer.  I use a facial oil I make; gentle massage in upward strokes.

Do you have a homemade facial that makes your skin glow? Please share!  😀

Leave a Reply

