No one likes a smelly yoga mat!

No one likes a smelly yoga mat.  This is a great in between spray.   If you use your yoga mat 3-5 times a week, consider taking it into the shower with you once a week (and especially if you take your mat outside the home).  I take mine into the shower, and give it a bath with a dollop of shampoo, then a vinegar rinse (I have a bottle of vinegar in the shower for my hair), and then hang dry.

For in between a good scrubbing…here’s the recipe…

Yoga Mat Spray:
3/4 cup water
1/4 cup vinegar
10 drops tea tree essential oil
5 drops of lavender essential oil
3 drops of orange essential oil
1 drop of geranium essential oil (optional—I just love the smell, so uplifting and calming at the same time. If you make your own facial oils/lotions, this is excellent for skin)

Put it all together in a bottle and shake with each use. Spray mat after each use and let dry.

Tip:  As you can see from the photo, what I like to do is save all spray bottles and nozzles.  I have a collection of them for quick use of any spray I might make.  So save em, wash and sanitize em, and you’ll always have em on hand.  Also from photo you will see a bottled water.  You can take a few sips out of it, and add the essential oils, and vinegar to it, and add nozzle.  (By the way, I do drink out of a glass water bottle all day.  And no I don’t buy bottled water, however if I am given one at an event or wherever I am at, I accept it with a smile.)

Do you have any tips for keeping yoga mats clean….please share! We all could benefit from helpful advice 😀

photo(18)

Leave a Reply

